Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Sky Router ID changed

    This is a discussion on Sky Router ID changed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; My router recently randomly changed it's visible name from sky*****18 to sky*****19, it has retained the same passcode for access. ...

    1. #1
      daveice's Avatar
      daveice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Router ID changed

      My router recently randomly changed it's visible name from sky*****18 to sky*****19, it has retained the same passcode for access. I was just wondering if anyone knew why it has done it? It's not really a major issue, it just meant I had to go and change the access on all of my connected devices.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Sky Router ID changed

      daveice
      Hi first of all need to know what router do you have

    4. #3
      daveice's Avatar
      daveice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router ID changed

      Sorry, I knew I meant to post something else on the original post. The router is the Netgear DG834GT (the old school white one.)

    5. #4
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Sky Router ID changed

      thanks Dave now to get someone passing with a better understand to assist you

    6. #5
      malcolmgb's Avatar
      malcolmgb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01283 EMBUR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router ID changed

      I assume you are talking about SSID name. Are you sure you/someone hasn't changed it? there should be no way it can change itself. It is only the name given to identify the wireless signal it sends out, you can call it anything, it is also best to switch off SSID broadcast to make you invisible to others.
      Sync at 11194Kbps

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Router ID changed

      there should be no way it can change itself.
      There shouldn't be, but it does. Mine also changed and there have been reports by others about the same thing. No one seems to know why it happens.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router ID changed

      probably just an issue with the "old school white" router if nobody has changed the ssid

      i personally wouldnt advise phoning sky about the issue, just change the ssid back to the original and see if it happens to you again

      the name of the network isnt really to important anyway unless it frequently changes and disconnects your wireless devices. you could just leave the ssid at the new one and use a pen to change the number on the label of your router

    9. #8
      daveice's Avatar
      daveice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router ID changed

      Yeah thanks everyone.

      Like I said it wasn't really an issue I was just curious as to why it actually happend, it was just a minor inconvienence to reconnect all of my devices to it, but other than that it wasn't a problem. I'll just keep an eye on it and see if it happens again. Thanks again everyone.

    10. #9
      malcolmgb's Avatar
      malcolmgb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01283 EMBUR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router ID changed

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      There shouldn't be, but it does. Mine also changed and there have been reports by others about the same thing. No one seems to know why it happens.
      OK I continue to live & learn, certainly never come across it before. I have always changed my SSID's to my 'Network' name easier to remember than random names/numbers.

      TomD - if you do a factory reset with the button at the back of router does it go back to the original name as you would expect?
      Last edited by malcolmgb; 28-04-09 at 02:41 PM. Reason: message to TomD
      Sync at 11194Kbps

    11. #10
      beatlesaint's Avatar
      beatlesaint is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bournemouth
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router ID changed

      Thank Goodness for that - mine has changed from ****2 to ****3 today.

      I could only get local connection, so disconnected then re-booted the router, and after half an hour playing about got it back but with the 3 SSID.

      Glad its not just me, but its all very strange

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION