Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 33

    Serious problems, sky blocking me?

    This is a discussion on Serious problems, sky blocking me? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all. For the past week or so i've been having serious problems with my connection and the websites I ...

    1. #1
      Azazel's Avatar
      Azazel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01268
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Serious problems, sky blocking me?

      Hi all. For the past week or so i've been having serious problems with my connection and the websites I have visited.

      It all started when SUFU got shut down which is why I think SKY is doing this to me. www.superfundo.org was shut down by the malaysian government due to it being a torrent site etc etc.

      Anyway. When I tried to go to the site after a few seconds I was redirected to the sky router page saying "your internet connection is temporarily unavailable, please try again in a few minutes. I waited for about 10 minutes but no luck so naturally I rebooted my router.

      After a while I was able to get my connection back and decided to give sufu a miss for a while. So I went to The Internet Movie Database (IMDb) to see what new movies were about and I got a windows pop up thingy saying something like "the site you are trying to connect to is asking for username/password for DSL Router" (not the exact words but you get my drift) and I would get the 404 error when I don't put in my info etc.

      Now my google toolbar is giving me the same BS when I try to use it or click the google button or home.

      Imdb seems to be working now but my google toolbar is touch and go. I did a full virus scan just to make sure nothing funny is happening but this problem is beyond me. Has anyone else had this recently, is there a way to solve it?

      Thanks people


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Serious problems, sky blocking me?

      It's not Sky blocking stuff.

    4. #3
      legoman's Avatar
      legoman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Derby - EMDRRBB
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Derby
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Serious problems, sky blocking me?

      It sounds suspiciously like a virus/malware of sorts, especially from torrents... Have you tried downloading the Microsoft Malicious Software Removal Tool for April off the Download Centre (not windows update) and manually scanning with that?

      I ask because I recently somehow caught something nasty, 'Avast' found it, but just couldn't remove it! It kept jumping through various locations to dodge being squished; the MSRT got rid of it first time.

      Based on:
      ADSL2+
      33-34.5dB Line Attenuation (2224m of line to the exchange)
      8-9dB SNR Margin
      And many helpful people at Sky's Tech Centre!

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Serious problems, sky blocking me?

      From what the OP is saying it sounds more like the router has lost sync or IP from Sky servers.

    6. #5
      legoman's Avatar
      legoman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Derby - EMDRRBB
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Derby
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Serious problems, sky blocking me?

      Can it do that? Surely browsers wouldn't ask for his user/password? Without those, he just wouldn't sync to the DNS and would just get a 404?

      Based on:
      ADSL2+
      33-34.5dB Line Attenuation (2224m of line to the exchange)
      8-9dB SNR Margin
      And many helpful people at Sky's Tech Centre!

    7. #6
      Azazel's Avatar
      Azazel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01268
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Serious problems, sky blocking me?

      I thought it virus or something else nasty but i've gone through everything that I've downloaded over the past 6 months and all is 100% safe.

      PaulSky, I've rebooted my router a lot lately and did a manual reset. If it is out of sync, is there a way to fix this or am I going to have to call up and sky and speak to someone who doesn't even know what IP stands for?

      Thanks

    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Serious problems, sky blocking me?

      Post your router stats.

      Sometimes the Sagem routers ask you to put ion the user and password if they lose sync with the exchange so you may have a line fault.

    9. #8
      g0fhm's Avatar
      g0fhm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Downham Market - Non LLU
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Unlimited - migrated from Sky (dis)Connect
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Serious problems, sky blocking me?

      I'm suffering from this, too.....

      All was fine, until Yesterday (Sunday). I have Google set as my homepage on IE8. All of a sudden, google.co.uk gives me the black & red screen, and "Website blocked by BSkyB Firewall".

      Now, I do have keyword blocking on (with a 13 year old male in the house, it's the safest bet!), and one of the blocked domains was ad.googlesyndication.com, to try and rid the screen of a lot of banners etc.

      I've done some playing tonight, and disabled keyword blocking for the time being, and even removed the keyword with reference to google. Still no dice, google is being blocked by the firewall.

      I have the Netgear Router (black), with V2.02.44 firmware.... Sky havent released an update over the weekend that is causing this?

      Not too chuffed here, as google is my search engine of choice!

      James

    10. #9
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: Serious problems, sky blocking me?

      Quote Originally Posted by g0fhm View Post
      Still no dice, google is being blocked by the firewall.
      Have you rebooted the router since you played with it, leave it off for a few minutes before starting it up again.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Serious problems, sky blocking me?

      @Azazel
      Have you had a letter or email from Sky, you may have been reported to them by the internet police, if not download and run
      http://www.download.com/Malwarebytes-Anti-Malware/3000-8022_4-10804572.html?hhTest=1.


      @g0fhm
      Reset your router by pushing a point into the reset button on the rear of the router. Hold it there until the lights flash. That should clear all previous settings.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION