Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 33

    Serious problems, sky blocking me?

    This is a discussion on Serious problems, sky blocking me? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Azazel "the site you are trying to connect to is asking for username/password for DSL Router" (not ...

    1. #11
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Serious problems, sky blocking me?

      Quote Originally Posted by Azazel View Post
      "the site you are trying to connect to is asking for username/password for DSL Router" (not the exact words but you get my drift) and I would get the 404 error when I don't put in my info etc.
      enter the username as "admin" and the password as "sky"

      whenever it said your internet connection was unavailable did you notice any of the lights going out on your router?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Azazel's Avatar
      Azazel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01268
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Serious problems, sky blocking me?

      Tried that and it takes me to my sky router settings. Can't go to IMDB now. I'm so sick of SKY.

      Once I called them because I couldn't understand why I was paying for supposidly 16mb speeds abd the fastest download I could get was 400kb/s.

      One day it will be nice to have true high speed and none of these BS problems.

    4. #13
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Serious problems, sky blocking me?

      Why are you blaming Sky for this? Post your stats so people can see what is happening to your connection.

    5. #14
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Serious problems, sky blocking me?

      Quote Originally Posted by Azazel View Post
      Tried that and it takes me to my sky router settings. Can't go to IMDB now. I'm so sick of SKY.

      One day it will be nice to have true high speed and none of these BS problems.
      You are the only person who cannot get that site on Sky so it must be your setup, couple that with the poor speeds it sounds like you have connection issues, likley to be your internal wiring or a wireless interference problem

      Get them sorted and you should be able to get your "true high speed and none of these BS problems"

      But remember, you speed is dependant on your line quality, it is an upto 16mb service, if you are a distance away, your speeds will be less.

      As requested, post your router stats, without them we cannot help!!!

    6. #15
      Azazel's Avatar
      Azazel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01268
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Serious problems, sky blocking me?

      Not exactly sure of what exact stats you need but here it goes.

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 2796242 3758689 0 44541 0 13:58:53
      LAN 19 0 0 0 0 28:43:14
      WLAN 7903616 5642454 0 15691 59811 27:54:35
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3648 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 47.0 db 28.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.0 db 13.0 db

      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB023o.d20h
      Modem Status Up
      DownStream Connection Speed 3648
      UpStream Connection Speed 768
      VPI 0
      VCI 38


      I can get back on imdb now and so far no problems today. I blame SKY because every person I've spoken to on broadband help either
      A) Hardly speaks English
      B) Has no idea what the hell i'm talking about
      C) Tells me if they put a cap on my line it would help my connection?

      As far as my line, I was told the maximum my line could handle would be 4mb/s but that I can only expect 10% of that. I asked why and they didn't know.

    7. #16
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Serious problems, sky blocking me?

      I assume you have a Sagem router as this was an issue with them when they lost their IP address - you'd be presented with the login prompt for the router...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #17
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Serious problems, sky blocking me?

      With your attenuation you should get 6mb so I suspect you ahve a wiring issue. Do you have a test socket? if so get the stats from there.

    9. #18
      eastdog's Avatar
      eastdog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Serious problems, sky blocking me?

      I am experiencing an identical problem with the message "your internet connection is temporarily unavailable, please try again in a few minutes" appearing, sometimes having to enter the router username/password in order to browse pages when it's back up.
      My router reconnects but then drops out again after a couple of minutes. Only started a couple of days ago but tonight it has been doing it all night.
      I have a black sagem router, and even with no devices connected it still goes through the cycle of connecting(solid green light), disconnecting(no green light) and reconnecting(flashing orange light) every couple of minutes.

      Is it possible that it's my month's cap being reached? I have the sky mid package and watch hi def streams of baseball from the states and April is the first month it has been on.
      Sky are supposed to let you know when your cap has been reached and I haven't received anything.
      I have had no problems with my sky connection before this.

    10. #19
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Serious problems, sky blocking me?

      if you're on Mid (LLU) the Sky aren't enforcing the limits - yet!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #20
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Serious problems, sky blocking me?

      The error of the username and password usually appears on a Sagem router, when it loses sync to the DSLAM at your exchange.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION