Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    So why does my downstream rate gradually reduce

    This is a discussion on So why does my downstream rate gradually reduce within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I posted my stats a while ago on here and someone suggested I replace the master socket with a adsl ...

    1. #1
      heyho's Avatar
      heyho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0113
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      131
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      So why does my downstream rate gradually reduce

      I posted my stats a while ago on here and someone suggested I replace the master socket with a adsl/voice split one. This caused my rate to increase from around 2.7mbs to 4.6. I have been monitoring this for the a while now.

      For the first 10 days or so the rate stuck at 4.6 but then I noticed it went down to 4.3mbs and when I rebooted it stayed at that. Now it has dropped slightly more to 4.1mbs.

      The rate is better than it was granted but why should it drop further. Are Sky monitoring this and saying 'mmmmm he's getting more than he should from his connection, lets drop him a bit'.

      I'm on Sky Max by the way.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: So why does my downstream rate gradually reduce

      Sync speed and line noise are inversely linked - if your downstream has dropped then your line noise has risen. Unless, as you say, Sky have adjusted your connection i.e. raised your noise margin. If they had (as part of DLM or in response to a line issue) then usually you'd see a bigger drop than you report.

      Posting your stats will help in diagnosis.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: So why does my downstream rate gradually reduce

      If your sync is changing then the line is probably dropping. Normally the noise margin would increase/decrease to take up different line conditions.
      Have a look in your router log and see if any disconnections are being reported.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      heyho's Avatar
      heyho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0113
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      131
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: So why does my downstream rate gradually reduce

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      Sync speed and line noise are inversely linked - if your downstream has dropped then your line noise has risen. Unless, as you say, Sky have adjusted your connection i.e. raised your noise margin. If they had (as part of DLM or in response to a line issue) then usually you'd see a bigger drop than you report.

      Posting your stats will help in diagnosis.
      Stats:

      System Up Time: 167:32:15

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4192 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 52.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 8.4 db 9.0 db

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: So why does my downstream rate gradually reduce

      Have you checked your router log? The uptime shown is for your LAN, how does this cpmpare with your WAN uptime.

      Unless you have phoned Sky about your connection, they will not have capped it or be monitoring it. If you reboot when your noise margin is high you should connect at a higher speed. For instance, if your margin is 8.4 I would expect you to resync at about 4600 after a reboot.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      heyho's Avatar
      heyho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0113
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      131
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: So why does my downstream rate gradually reduce

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Have you checked your router log? The uptime shown is for your LAN, how does this cpmpare with your WAN uptime.

      Unless you have phoned Sky about your connection, they will not have capped it or be monitoring it. If you reboot when your noise margin is high you should connect at a higher speed. For instance, if your margin is 8.4 I would expect you to resync at about 4600 after a reboot.
      When I do reboot I do get 4600 then it gradually diminishes.

      What I really want to know is given my distance from the exchange (calculated at about 3.7 road knm's / 1.5km as the crow flies) is 4200 - 4600 about what I should expect or should I be pestering Sky

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: So why does my downstream rate gradually reduce

      Your figures show you are getting as much as your line can take, so it would be pointless pestering Sky. They are more likely to 'misunderstand' and cut your speed down. Although the road distance is 3.7, the line length is likely to be 4.0+K.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      heyho's Avatar
      heyho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0113
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      131
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: So why does my downstream rate gradually reduce

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Your figures show you are getting as much as your line can take, so it would be pointless pestering Sky. They are more likely to 'misunderstand' and cut your speed down. Although the road distance is 3.7, the line length is likely to be 4.0+K.
      Cheers for the advice, appreciated.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION