Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    Sky BroadBand Slow!

    This is a discussion on Sky BroadBand Slow! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Smithy99 Yes, It would even work if your x-box was at the end of an extension lead ...

    1. #11
      jahid26's Avatar
      jahid26 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky BroadBand Slow!

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      Yes, It would even work if your x-box was at the end of an extension lead in a shed at the end of your garden.
      ok cool thanks!
      So if I use that will it basiclly be the same as playing plugged in to the router?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      jahid26's Avatar
      jahid26 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky BroadBand Slow!

      Also by any chance is the one you posted the "Home Plug" is that the best one?
      I only have 40 to spend so will it be ok?

    4. #13
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

    5. #14
      jahid26's Avatar
      jahid26 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky BroadBand Slow!

      Ok I just purchased the ones from amazon and they have been sent so I should hopefully receive the item tommoro. Now is there any way I can fix the speed of my Internet?
      Also I just want to say thank you for helping me because I would have never found out about this without your help

    6. #15
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky BroadBand Slow!

      You may be forced to change ISP, Sky Connect is a re-baged BT product and Sky are not managing it well which is causing capacity issues especially at peak times.

      This causes big problems for gamers who rely on a good network to send and recieve data.

      If you are a low user who doesn't download too much, there are better ISP's out there, Plusnet do a specific gamers package and Zen also have a very good network.

    7. #16
      jahid26's Avatar
      jahid26 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Arrow Re: Sky BroadBand Slow!

      ok il try that but i really dont know how to change ISP lol. Does it cost money or can you please link me to a guide on how. Thanks Smithy99 for the help its really appreciated

    8. #17
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky BroadBand Slow!

      It is, or should be quite easy, pick your new ISP, get a MAC code from Sky and then give it to the new ISP, the rest is done for you.

      On the day you swap over, you just either fit the new ISP's router or chsnge the settings in your own.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION