Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Slow speeds

    This is a discussion on Slow speeds within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; After a speedtest the other month I noticed my speed has dropped by almost 3 times what it usually is. ...

    1. #1
      oliscott's Avatar
      oliscott is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Slow speeds

      After a speedtest the other month I noticed my speed has dropped by almost 3 times what it usually is. Cant think at all what could have caused it, Havent changed anything in the setup.

      Anyway I have the Router Wired from the socket downstairs that is now using the master, tried the test one and got worse speeds.

      Here are my stats. If anyone could take a look and give me some insight into what might be going wrong that would be great or what questions I should be asking should I chose to ring Sky themselves.



      System Up Time 44:57:12
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 15748 21800 0 836 4898 01:12:44
      LAN 10M/100M 8261360 8597958 0 5073 26450 44:57:09
      WLAN 11M/54M 86625 10735 0 147 7 44:57:01

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3872 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 35.0 db 20.8 db
      Noise Margin 8.0 db 15.0 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds

      Could you post your stats from the test socket.

      If as you have said when connected to the test socket the stats get worse that you have an external line problem.
      Do you have any noise on the phone when you pick it up like, pops etc if not then you will have a hard time trying to get it fixed.
      The best thing i can say is to phone sky and say you have speed problems and be pluged into the test socket when you ring to save time, hopefully they will escalate the problem to BT, they did when i had a problem and the problems got fixed within a few days.

      Hope some of this helps, with your problems.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds

      You should be getting 10-11 Mb, but according to your noise margin, you are getting almost as much as the line will handle. Can you plug directly into the Test socket(link below) no extensions and take your stats from there and post them here?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      oliscott's Avatar
      oliscott is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds

      This is from the test socket.


    6. #5
      oliscott's Avatar
      oliscott is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds

      Well turns out it was me being the daft one. Must have swapped the micro filter around at one point as it was going into the adapter. Swapped them back around and now I have.



      Also cheers for the replys guys.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION