Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Speed Problem

    This is a discussion on Speed Problem within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have been with sky for just under a year and my speed has always been this low. I use ...

    1. #1
      haz's Avatar
      haz
      haz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Speed Problem



      I have been with sky for just under a year and my speed has always been this low. I use a sagem F@st 2504 router and was wondering if there's anything that can increase my speed. I suspect that maybe my router settings or something has my speed capped/blocked.

      thanks in advance


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed Problem

      Plug into the Test socket, link below and take your stats from there. Copy and paste them here.

      How to get your router statistics

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      haz's Avatar
      haz
      haz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Problem

      System Up Time: 959:12:11
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 26162129 31600549 0 0 0 959:10:03
      LAN 40 0 0 0 0 959:12:11
      WLAN 31385814 26312125 0 0 0 959:11:46

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 381 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 57.5 db 27.6 db
      Noise Margin 8.5 db 20.0 db

    5. #4
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Problem

      Are those stats from the test socket, because if they are you have a problem somewhere.

      When you use the phone do you get any noise like, pops crackels etc.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed Problem

      I can see that you have not changed you routers position, so unless you are already plugged into the Test socket, please do so. If you are, you have major external line problems.

      If you are unsure what to, do please click the red Test socket link below.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION