Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 61

    This is what I would have emailed to Sky...

    This is a discussion on This is what I would have emailed to Sky... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Stat attack, stat attack!!! Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 288:01:59 Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time ...

    1. #11
      candlestickchimney's Avatar
      candlestickchimney is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      76
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: This is what I would have emailed to Sky...

      Stat attack, stat attack!!!

      Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 288:01:59

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 39857 55286 0 46 399 37:15:07
      LAN 100M/Full 82859 0 0 8 0 288:01:54
      WLAN 11M/54M 6187398 5266251 0 1370 2959 288:01:42
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6043 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29 db 16 db
      Noise Margin 8 db 11 db

      Thoughts??


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: This is what I would have emailed to Sky...

      Well good news and bad

      Bad news is that it looks like your internal wiring may be holding your speeds back big time. With that attenuation you should get 14-16mb on a good line.

      Good news, you should be able to cure it for under 20.

      First you are goiung to have to get a new master socket, an NTE5 type with the test socket beneath. Then fit a filtered faceplate to it and either run the router from there, use a long ethernet cable, homeplugs or run an ADSL only socket to the router position.

      It looks like your speeds have been held back even with Zen as you should have easily been maxing out your line at 8mb on their package.

      Sky are right though with those stats you wont get much more, you need to sort out the internal wiring first.

      If you don't mind a bit of fiddling, you could remove the face off the master socket and disconnect all the extensions from it, this would give you just the one working socket to get the stats from and should remove the noise from the line, you can then put the wires back in again if you need to until the new socket and faceplate arrives.

    4. #13
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: This is what I would have emailed to Sky...

      Quote Originally Posted by candlestickchimney View Post
      there is an extension which runs upstairs to a 2nd socket which has a filter plugged into it and nothing else.
      If that extension is running off your microfilter downstairs then you shouldnt need to put a microfilter on it. Also have a quick check around the house and just make sure you dont have any microfilters plugged in that dont have a device connected(phone etc).

    5. #14
      candlestickchimney's Avatar
      candlestickchimney is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      76
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: This is what I would have emailed to Sky...

      I'll post some pics of my wiring shortly if that's OK for suggestions?

    6. #15
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: This is what I would have emailed to Sky...

      You only need top filter sockets that have phones plugged into them.

      That said, even if there is nothing plugged into the extension the wiring itself that is running to it can cause the noise and could half your speed..

      You would be best removing all the extensions from the master socket and just plugging in the ones that you need if any.

      You only need to connect terminals 2 & 5, anything plugged into the other numbers remove (just pull them upwards).

    7. #16
      candlestickchimney's Avatar
      candlestickchimney is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      76
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: This is what I would have emailed to Sky...

      Right.....this is were my BT line comes into the house...



      ...into this, which has 2 cables coming out of it.




      the bottom one goes upstairs to a socket with filter on it (about 10 metres), and the top one runs about 3 metres round the doorframe and through the wall to here.....



      which is where my 'main socket' is.

      Thanks everyone for your help on this!! Edit, sorry clicky please for bigger photos, imageshack has resized em!!??
      Last edited by candlestickchimney; 21-04-09 at 08:13 PM. Reason: Clicky piccys

    8. #17
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: This is what I would have emailed to Sky...

      Ok, is the upstairs socket used? if not I would remove the cover from the junction box and disconnect it completely.

      This will give you the one socket and should improve you stats by quite a bit.

      If it is then you need to replace that junction box with an NTE5 master socket and then connect the upstairs socket to it from there.

      When you have the front off the junction box (assuming you are disconnecting the upstairs socket) you may want to give it clean and ensure all the wires are in good condition, also give it a spray with some WD40 if you have any.

      Post the stats again once you have done it.

    9. #18
      candlestickchimney's Avatar
      candlestickchimney is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      76
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: This is what I would have emailed to Sky...

      Cheers Smithy, going out now, so the saga may have to continue tomorrow....isn't technology brilliant.

      The 2nd line is not required at present, so I'll start with that!

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: This is what I would have emailed to Sky...

      If the cables are muti core, and it looks like they are, it should be possible to reconnect your upstairs socket with the existing wiring, so don't rip it out just yet. When you have disconnected the upstairs wires from the junction box as Smithy suggest, I think you will see a massive improvement. Your line should be capable of 14-15 Mb, although if capped, you will only see a big rise in the noise margin at first.

      Check inside the one you think is master to see if there is a capacitor, if there is not, check the upstairs one.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      candlestickchimney's Avatar
      candlestickchimney is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      76
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: This is what I would have emailed to Sky...

      Latest stats after wire pullout scenario....

      System Up Time: 315:10:25

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 92788 128944 0 61 536 64:23:33
      LAN 100M/Full 118519 0 0 10 0 315:10:20
      WLAN 11M/54M 6279846 5305223 0 1316 2710 315:10:08
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6043 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29 db 16 db
      Noise Margin 11 db 10 db

      and a picture of the disaster zone that is the main box into the house:



      Thoughts??

     

     
    Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION