Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 30 of 30

    Could I ask for a higher speed?

    This is a discussion on Could I ask for a higher speed? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Andy17 So is the Co-ax cable already laid under the ground up to your house or do ...

    1. #21
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Could I ask for a higher speed?

      Quote Originally Posted by Andy17 View Post
      So is the Co-ax cable already laid under the ground up to your house or do the install it when you sign up.

      When i put my postcode in the virgin media checker it says cannot get the cable serivce does this mean the co-ax cable is not laid to my house to the green street cab.
      It means that there is no cable in your area, usually they have the cables ran from the cabinets to little triangle holes in the pavement outside every property that can get it then when you order they come and do the final connection.

      If the checker says you cannot have it it is nowhere near you.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Could I ask for a higher speed?

      This map gives an idea of the area covered by cable. Geographically it does not cover much of an area, only the sweet spots with a dense population. I doubt if many of the red areas will ever be covered.
      http://www.samknows.com/broadband/ma...r.php?p=virgin

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #23
      Bufferz's Avatar
      Bufferz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallasey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Location
      Wallasey, Nr. Liverpool
      Posts
      78
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Could I ask for a higher speed?

      so would sky or a.n.other company introduce fibre to the home? at a cost, obviously, as that is the main prob for line speeds.....
      With SkyBB:


    5. #24
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Could I ask for a higher speed?

      I think Toms map above would answer the question. Any company will only invest money if they will get a return from it. I think the first step will be fibre to the cabinet and this will only happen in densely populated areas initially until the returns allow further investment in less profitable areas. Unfortunately in some areas the costs would be prohibitive as they would never make a return unless they were subsidised by other bodies.


    6. #25
      GSMGuy's Avatar
      GSMGuy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: HD+ Multiroom
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      526
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Could I ask for a higher speed?

      This is why I never understood why BB over mains cabling ever took off, I mean every house is already wired up!

      Mike

    7. #26
      GSMGuy's Avatar
      GSMGuy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: HD+ Multiroom
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      526
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Could I ask for a higher speed?

      Quote Originally Posted by canada16 View Post
      Until I changed I always had speeds of 4mb and 10mb, as I upgraded.

      Now if you download more that something like 700mb in a night between 5-12am, then they would 3/4 you.

      So is you were on 4 you would be on one and 10 would go to 2mb, and then re-set the next day.

      .
      They don't 3/4 you, they throttle 75% of your bandwidth (so your figs are accurate)

      As Canada16 says, you get the advertised speed on cable, and if you don't there is a problem somewhere.

      However their traffic managemant and shaping is horrendous, I mean what is the point of having a solid 20mb connection and not being able to d/l more than 2400mb between 10am and 3pm or 1200mb between 4pm and 9pm

      The throttling is automatic, starting the second you exceed the limit, and lasting until the management period expires, ie a max of 5 hours - So theoretically you are paying for a service that quite easily will be restricted to 25% of it's speed for 10 hours out of EVERY 24!!

      I want a fast connection, because I like to download -LOTS - Surely Virgin realise this, or they would not have anything other than 2mb speeds! They currently don't apply any shaping to the 50mb package, but @ 50 per month I would hope not - They do however "reserve the right" which means they probably will when they introduce 75mb, so as to force everyone up a price plan - That is what I believe they are after doing, ie getting everyone onto 50mb, even those who only ocassionally get capped, as they will get so pee'd off when it happens!!

      Just my 2p lol


      Mike

    8. #27
      rijam's Avatar
      rijam is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Could I ask for a higher speed?

      On 20mb it is 6000mb between 10am-3pm
      4-9pm it is 3000mb

    9. #28
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Could I ask for a higher speed?

      what on earth do you download, though? there's only so many linux distro's you can get before you go into illegal file sharing...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #29
      canada16's Avatar
      canada16 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Cardiff
      Posts
      588
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Could I ask for a higher speed?

      Well you could download amature porn .....
      Im sure there is no copyright there.

      You can download TV shows, and free files.

      Even if you go onto places like, BBC IPlayer and 5 viewer and watch program you are downloading content.

      Virgin have changed then since two months ago,

      I downloaded a 1gb file and they capped me, and they always capped me between 5pm to 12am, Still its bad when you bad 40.00 just for broadband a month. And I was on a 10mb service. I didnt pay 40.00, but for the new people with 50mb, I would never pay the money, its just them flexing their muscles, but they cant fight.

      Its probably them trying to get more money in as they spent so much in fiber optic, and then they dont have to buy more servers to keep up with the demand .

    11. #30
      GSMGuy's Avatar
      GSMGuy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: HD+ Multiroom
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      526
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Could I ask for a higher speed?

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      what on earth do you download, though? there's only so many linux distro's you can get before you go into illegal file sharing...
      Soon mounts up, even downloading the legit stuff, esp when you can 3 or 4 laptops connected too, all streaming video from Iplayer/Skyplayer etc, and then someone gaming as well.... We do have 5 kids in our house lol...


      Mike

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION