Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 30

    Could I ask for a higher speed?

    This is a discussion on Could I ask for a higher speed? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just out of interest. How many Virgin customers actually achieve 50mb on a regular basis...

    1. #11
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Could I ask for a higher speed?

      Just out of interest. How many Virgin customers actually achieve 50mb on a regular basis


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Could I ask for a higher speed?

      I would also like to know this, and isn't cable broadband not affected by distance to exchange so shouldn't anyone on cable be able to get the full speed of any package even if they are along way from the exchange, or am i wrong in thinking this.

    4. #13
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Could I ask for a higher speed?

      it's not affected by distance but IS affected by Virgin's stupid traffic shaping...you think it's bad on Connect, well.....
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #14
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Could I ask for a higher speed?

      How bad is virgin media really speed wise. I cannot get it just woundering what its like.

    6. #15
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Could I ask for a higher speed?

      when not traffic shaped it's meant to be good, a few of my mates still at uni say it's great, but come evenings you'll go from 20Mbps to like 2Mbps...still usable but when you're sharing it with housemates it's doesn't go very far...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #16
      sdd's Avatar
      sdd
      sdd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01268
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SKY HUB SR102-WIRELESS ROUTER
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      267
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Could I ask for a higher speed?

      i had VM before what i have now its not all its cut out to be i had 20mb and never got any thing like that

      i got something like just over10mb its just like here its up to 16mg not many people will get 16 if any

      so i don't think anybody will get 50mb might be lucky and get about 30mb also you have to take into consideration its the cost is about 40 a mth just for broadband

      Another thing is the main cables for the VM was already laid back in the 80s and was called CABLE TV it then went to TELEWEST and then NTL and then VIRGINMEDIA but cable as been around since the early 70s what was then called PIPE TV so i don't know if some of that was used by the cable companies.


      Nobody is Perfect.....I am Nobody....Therefore I am Perfect

    8. #17
      tenar's Avatar
      tenar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newcastle NINE
      Broadband ISP: sky fibre max
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      newcastle co down
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 41 Times in 39 Posts

      Re: Could I ask for a higher speed?

      cable bb is not too bad although traffic shaping policy crazy some night throughput down to 60kbps i have thier 2mb service . also adverts are misleading as service is no fibre optic rather a hybrid fibre co-ax so is not classed as fibre optical , speeds will creep up but with network bandwidths and costs very few people will get much higher without paying alot for it

    9. #18
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Could I ask for a higher speed?

      So when you sign up to virgin media and the installation days comes how do they connected it up, is the cable at the house just under the ground or do the put that in on install.

    10. #19
      canada16's Avatar
      canada16 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Cardiff
      Posts
      588
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Could I ask for a higher speed?

      Until I changed I always had speeds of 4mb and 10mb, as I upgraded.

      Now if you download more that something like 700mb in a night between 5-12am, then they would 3/4 you.

      So is you were on 4 you would be on one and 10 would go to 2mb, and then re-set the next day.

      They use the green boxes outside your house, and connect the co-ax to your home then.

      I am always getting 12mb now, so glad I left.

    11. #20
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Could I ask for a higher speed?

      So is the Co-ax cable already laid under the ground up to your house or do the install it when you sign up.

      When i put my postcode in the virgin media checker it says cannot get the cable serivce does this mean the co-ax cable is not laid to my house to the green street cab.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION