Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Could I have been capped?

    This is a discussion on Could I have been capped? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, I'm paying for the Sky Base Package because that's the best deal I can get around here with the ...

    1. #1
      Tisy0's Avatar
      Tisy0 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Could I have been capped?

      Hello,

      I'm paying for the Sky Base Package because that's the best deal I can get around here with the complete package. I'm now thinking about upgrading to the Mid 8MB internet. Although...
      A couple of weeks ago I was downloading at a steady 200kb/s, Never much lower, Never much higher. But lately, the max I've been getting is 107kb/s MAXIMUM.
      On Speedtest.net These are my stats.


      I had problems when I moved into this house because of the Line but that was all sorted and has worked fine since. I've tried it on several other computers and they all get the same results, This computer has a Wired Connection so it can't be wireless at the fault.

      Could anybody help me?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Could I have been capped?

      You need to post stats, upload, download and SNR

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Could I have been capped?

      You need to post your stats from the routers normal position and from the Test socket. Speed tests are no use.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      Tisy0's Avatar
      Tisy0 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Could I have been capped?

      How do I find these out?
      DownStream Connection Speed 1018 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 412 kbps
      Is about all I know.

    6. #5
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Could I have been capped?

      Noise margin as well

      Preliminary guess i think you have

    7. #6
      Tisy0's Avatar
      Tisy0 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Could I have been capped?

      Line Attenuation 51.0 db 33.6 db
      Noise Margin 13.6 db 16.5 db

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Could I have been capped?

      I think your line has been put on ADSL2+ which does not suit it. Phone Sky and ask them to trouble shoot for a slow connection. If you get through to CST they should return you to G.DMT and put you back to your original speed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Could I have been capped?

      Yup second opinion from me you have been capped


      08442 410 515 is the number you need

    10. #9
      Tisy0's Avatar
      Tisy0 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Could I have been capped?

      It's no different when its plugged into the Test Socket so I suppose I better give them a ring?

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION