Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18

    Sky max gone downhill

    This is a discussion on Sky max gone downhill within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Rich2009 I plugged the router in to the test socket and the results are the same, we ...

    1. #11
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky max gone downhill

      Quote Originally Posted by Rich2009 View Post

      I plugged the router in to the test socket and the results are the same, we have no extension wiring
      In that case then I agree with "isitme" there must be a fault on your external line some where along the line.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky max gone downhill

      Try them again at about 11pm when you got the very low reading yesterday. If it drops again about the same time, chances are something in your neighbourhood is switching off/on at that time and causing interference on your line. Cinema or bingo hall closing down and switching extractors on or off for instance.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      Rich2009's Avatar
      Rich2009 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rainham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky max gone downhill

      Thanks for the responses, We tried to call earlier but sky computers were down.
      What should my noise margin be?

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky max gone downhill

      The default is 6.9 dbs. Yours is jumping between 5 and 11, which not a good thing. I meant to check your stats at the same time as the previous low. Keep an eye on them for the next couple of hours and see how they vary. Open the Statistics box and stick it in the corner of your screen, then you can watch real time as they refresh every 10 seconds.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      Rich2009's Avatar
      Rich2009 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rainham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky max gone downhill

      Its has stayed 7db for last hour.

      Just called sky, He told me thats what its set at and thats that. I told him I'm not pleased with the upload speed, He said he would pass it on and we would receive a call back tomorrow. I don't think i should hold my breath waiting for that.
      While on the phone, My wife informed me that builders we had in last week unplugged the router for there battery charger

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10237 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 33 db 19 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 19 db


    7. #16
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky max gone downhill

      will probably be done by lunch...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #17
      Rich2009's Avatar
      Rich2009 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rainham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky max gone downhill

      Well sky did not return with a phone call as promised, So we called them up and what a frustrating 25 minutes that was. The nice Lady told me my mac has a virus thats why its running slow??? My speed is set and thats that. I asked to speak to the tech department she told that they tried to call and they have looked and there is no problem (i have been home all the time), She said I'm using lime wire etc we don't ???
      The kids play online and are moaning, She said the upload speed not important for that.
      If thats what my line can handle then fair enough, But the upload is terrible and as i have said before it worked great to start. Should i just accept what i have been told? Why should i pay the top price.

      Arrrrrrrrrrrrrgh
      help
      Rant over sorry

    9. #18
      canada16's Avatar
      canada16 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Cardiff
      Posts
      588
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky max gone downhill

      I had to phone sky after DLM was on my line twice in 3 weeks.

      Was so mad, phoned them up, they were so nice, they said I think your line can handle 12mb even though my neighbour gets 10mb.

      And away they went and no problems since, I am a happy uncapped ex-virgin sky lover customer.

      I got the homeplug though as well, super impressed with them, and can stream HD.

      48.00 From argos, cant go wrong, wired speeds at wireless.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION