Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    My Local exchange has just been enabled for 21CN WBC.........

    This is a discussion on My Local exchange has just been enabled for 21CN WBC......... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, My local exchange has just been enabled for 21CN WBC - now I live quite away from the exchange ...

    1. #1
      ady199's Avatar
      ady199 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leamington Spa
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      My Local exchange has just been enabled for 21CN WBC.........

      Hi,

      My local exchange has just been enabled for 21CN WBC - now I live quite away from the exchange and at present can only get 1MB download speed.

      I've read an article somewhere that said once this service had been enabled on the exchange, someone who lives a long way from their exchange can choose an adsl2 (not adsl2+) option which should allow a vast speed increase.

      Is this correct or were they just talking out of their backsides??

      My current Stats are:-

      Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1024 kbps 512 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63.5 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 1.8 db 10.0 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      davedarave01uk's Avatar
      davedarave01uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin + Vivaciti
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Local exchange has just been enabled for 21CN WBC.........

      I was informed that adsl2 will pretty much double the speed of your line

    4. #3
      ady199's Avatar
      ady199 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leamington Spa
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Local exchange has just been enabled for 21CN WBC.........

      How do I get it enabled - do I just phone Sky??

    5. #4
      mccann85's Avatar
      mccann85 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Waterlooville
      Broadband ISP: BE & O2
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Waterlooville
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Local exchange has just been enabled for 21CN WBC.........

      You cant currently only Entanet and AAISP offer WBC (ADSL2/2+)

    6. #5
      ady199's Avatar
      ady199 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leamington Spa
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Local exchange has just been enabled for 21CN WBC.........

      Quote Originally Posted by mcclaw View Post
      You cant currently only Entanet and AAISP offer WBC (ADSL2/2+)
      great...not!

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: My Local exchange has just been enabled for 21CN WBC.........

      You are on an LLU connection which is and always has been capable of ADSL2+. However your attenuation, which is the maximum the router will read, indicates that you are a very long way from the exchange. You are lucky you have any connection at all. It is very doubtful if ADSL2+ would run on your line as well as your present mode does. BT are in fact just catching up with Sky with their much hyped 21CN.
      There is nothing stopping you phoning Sky and asking them if they will put your line on ADSL2+, they are likely to tell you it is not suitable, but you can always try.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: My Local exchange has just been enabled for 21CN WBC.........

      for that line length I would want to be on GDMT as moving up to ADSL2+ will add another 2-3 dB to your attenuation and you could actually drop in speed.

      Especially as you have a very low noise margin even at 1 meg/sec.

      You can try and get put on it but it is doubtful wether or not you will benefit.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION