Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 26 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 259
    Like Tree1Likes

    (Unofficial) FAQ - Sky Connect Users

    This is a discussion on (Unofficial) FAQ - Sky Connect Users within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Broadband, Web Design, Secure Hosting | IDNet...

    1. #41
      Gazz380's Avatar
      Gazz380 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whitehead (NIWD)
      Broadband ISP: ADSL24
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Location
      N.Ireland
      Posts
      287
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post



    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      wally10's Avatar
      wally10 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: (Unofficial) FAQ - Sky Connect Users

      Yeah ive seen there site gaz ive rang them aswell like i say everything be ok but 5gb a month limit no good to me mate.Im trying o2 anyway decided

    4. #43
      Gazz380's Avatar
      Gazz380 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whitehead (NIWD)
      Broadband ISP: ADSL24
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Location
      N.Ireland
      Posts
      287
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

      Re: (Unofficial) FAQ - Sky Connect Users

      In which case i point you to the Sister site:

      O2User

    5. #44
      Arbee's Avatar
      Arbee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: (Unofficial) FAQ - Sky Connect Users

      Great thread, glad i'm not the only one having problems with connect!!

      I play on PKR poker quite a lot and since 18/06/09 I can't play during peak hours, looking on their forum it appears all other sky connect customers are having the same problem. This did coincide with an update from PKR but I think this may just of been coincidence.

      Anyway, after much head bashing trying to get any sense out of sky it's looking like I might bite the bullet and switch, couple of Q's...

      My contract only started in April (I did have connect at my previous address and had no problems), is it going to cost me anything to get out of?

      I also have line rental with Sky, is this going to cause problems?

      And sorry, bit of a technophobe, but what are mac keys? Are they what you need to switch provider?

      Thanks in advance

    6. #45
      Gazz380's Avatar
      Gazz380 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whitehead (NIWD)
      Broadband ISP: ADSL24
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Location
      N.Ireland
      Posts
      287
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

      Re: (Unofficial) FAQ - Sky Connect Users

      Quote Originally Posted by Arbee View Post
      Great thread, glad i'm not the only one having problems with connect!!

      I play on PKR poker quite a lot and since 18/06/09 I can't play during peak hours, looking on their forum it appears all other sky connect customers are having the same problem. This did coincide with an update from PKR but I think this may just of been coincidence.

      Anyway, after much head bashing trying to get any sense out of sky it's looking like I might bite the bullet and switch, couple of Q's...

      My contract only started in April (I did have connect at my previous address and had no problems), is it going to cost me anything to get out of?

      I also have line rental with Sky, is this going to cause problems?

      And sorry, bit of a technophobe, but what are mac keys? Are they what you need to switch provider?

      Thanks in advance

      Hi, thanks for your feedback, firstly your MAC Code is what you need to provide any new ISP you may join, its so they can switch you from sky to them, you can of course quit your contract with sky, but you need to prove to them that they have broken T&Cs, (See the very first post) everything you need is there, make a note of any BT tests you do to quote them on the phone to sky.

    7. #46
      steadyeddie's Avatar
      steadyeddie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: embread
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: (Unofficial) FAQ - Sky Connect Users

      Quote Originally Posted by Arbee View Post
      Great thread, glad i'm not the only one having problems with connect!!

      I play on PKR poker quite a lot and since 18/06/09 I can't play during peak hours, looking on their forum it appears all other sky connect customers are having the same problem. This did coincide with an update from PKR but I think this may just of been coincidence.
      Very interested to read this.
      I've been having the same problems from roughly the same date. I use Nutspoker on the ipoker network, and do remember there being a software update around the time it happened.
      It seems there's obviously a connection between the update and Sky's traffic shaping.
      Let me know if you find a solution to this please.
      Jeff

    8. #47
      Blythyvxr's Avatar
      Blythyvxr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: (Unofficial) FAQ - Sky Connect Users

      K, I'm a little confused, cos I've just switched (as in today) and I'm not too sure what's actually happening at the moment.

      Anyways, I reckon the switchover itself happened while I was at work, and came back with the old router still in, still working through BT, but I noticed the speed was about three times higher than normal - Thought we'd been stuck at 512 for years, but suddenly up to 1500k. Thought gerrin, we've gone to the highest package on sky, and finally get higher speeds.

      Switch the routers over, and it drops to 512 again. Been reading this thread, and did the bt speed test, got a 1500k line speed, and actual speed was around 350k.

      Pretty hacked off tbh at the moment, can anyone tell me what's going on - is this just cos I've switched or is this the traffic shaping thing. When can I expect the speeds to improve?

      (For reference, I'm connected to the shonkiest exchange in the north east - washington)

    9. #48
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: (Unofficial) FAQ - Sky Connect Users

      there's a 10 day bedding in period, where speeds WILL go up and down and it's best to leave the router on 24/7 until this has finished...also, have the rotuer in the master socket as extentions will also lead to a reduced sync rate...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #49
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: (Unofficial) FAQ - Sky Connect Users

      Blythyvxr
      Hi Welcome thats a new name for the exchange. As IANTE say`s do not turn your router off, Sky say it is best to leave your router on at all times. You can check the speed you should get at My Sky just login and click on service details all the information is there
      Blythyvxr (For reference, I'm connected to the shonkiest exchange in the north east - washington)

    11. #50
      skmo's Avatar
      skmo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: prestonpans
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      port seton
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: (Unofficial) FAQ - Sky Connect Users

      Hi, need some help, on some posts it says find the mac code on bottom of the router, well ive looked and i cant see any mac code i have ssid,network key and channel and nothing else, how do i find this code i want to run bt speedtest and when i try with user name and mac code from router stats page i always end up with errors.
      i have major speed slow downs almost constantly not just peak times and need to get it resolved
      We have detected that your ISP is Sky. Your download speed is 1200Kbps. Your upload speed is 312Kbps.

      both these tests where done within secs of each other

     

     
    Page 5 of 26 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast

    LinkBacks (?)


    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION