Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 24

    After some speed advice please...

    This is a discussion on After some speed advice please... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hiya, Can someone advise me about these: ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed 2047 kbps 412 kbps Line Attenuation 41.0 ...

    1. #1
      matthew1471's Avatar
      matthew1471 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question After some speed advice please...

      Hiya,

      Can someone advise me about these:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2047 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 41.0 db 23.2 db
      Noise Margin 11.3 db 23.0 db
      I'm about a mile from the exchange (bh12 2ns)

      Running the speed test, I'm getting a download rate of 1736Kbps and an upload of 298Kbps.

      Using the Sky adsl checker, it's reporting I should get between 8mb and 9mb for that attenuation.

      It's always been that slow, and I've finally got time to see if I can speed it up!

      Thanks,

      Matt


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: After some speed advice please...

      Well, you're profile says Mid so 8Mbps would be the max you can get anyway...and that's on a GOOD line - remember, speed estimates are just that, estimates...they do NOT mean you'll GET 8-9Mbps...

      You're capped, but not by loads...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: After some speed advice please...

      Post a set of stats from the test socket.
      You are on mid so wont get more than 8mb which as you suggest your att should support.
      Your nm is too high, whether thats caused by a cap or your internal wiring is hard to say until we see the other set of stats.
      Have a read of these threads for further info.
      Sky router stats (speed, noise, attenuation) explained
      Cabling and faceplate help


    5. #4
      matthew1471's Avatar
      matthew1471 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: After some speed advice please...

      Thanks, I'll have a read of those links.

      There is no test socket in my home... the place was rewired before we moved in, and one wasn't fitted.

      The router is connected to the socket with the incoming line though.

      I have looked at some adsl nation sockets, so may buy one of those and fit it myself.

    6. #5
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: After some speed advice please...

      Sky usually only cap for a reason, and you need to ensure your wiring is A1 before phoning to try and get it removed. Telephone extensions are the usual culprit.


    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: After some speed advice please...

      I have looked at some adsl nation sockets, so may buy one of those and fit it myself.
      You can only fit these to a NTE5 master socket. So don't spend your money too quickly
      I will add that you can get a type to fit to an extension, but that is not what you want.

      You may only be a mile from the exchange, but your attenuation says you are nearer 3 K in line length.

      Have a look inside the master socket and if there is a wire connected to terminal 3, take it off. This is the ring wire which is not required and can cause a lot of interference.

      Remember that everything plugged into the phone line must run through a filter.

      If you have the DG834GT as your profile says, go to Mel's Notes: Dg834gt-1skuk press the 'DG834GT Detailed Stats' button and post the results here.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      matthew1471's Avatar
      matthew1471 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: After some speed advice please...

      Thanks, isitme... good job I didn't run out and buy one!

      I removed the wire from terminal 3, and everything has a filter.

      Here are the stats:


      ppp0 Link encap:Point-Point Protocol
      inet addr:90.204.42.143 P-t-P:87.87.252.53 Mask:255.255.255.255
      UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
      RX packets:471 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
      TX packets:537 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
      collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
      RX bytes:347199 (339.0 KiB) TX bytes:146818 (143.3 KiB)

      Uptime 789.68 753.47
      Wan up 577.80 550.31
      adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 8000
      Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 412 Kbps, Downstream rate = 2047 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 8.1 21.5
      Attn(dB): 40.5 23.1
      Pwr(dBm): 21.5 8.4
      Max(Kbps): 3824 516
      Rate (Kbps): 2047 412
      G.dmt framing
      K: 7(0) 13
      R: 4 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 32 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 80 70
      B: 6 12
      M: 1 8
      T: 7 1
      R: 4 16
      S: 0.1071 7.4418
      L: 821 129
      D: 288 4
      Counters
      SF: 14486 13747
      SFErr: 24 1
      RS: 8720922 125496
      RSCorr: 9115 2
      RSUnCorr: 3038 0

      HEC: 22 0
      OCD: 6 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1128038 227518
      Data Cells: 7591 3551
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 7 1
      SES: 1 0
      UAS: 181 231
      AS: 234

      INP: 5.61 1.98
      PER: 16.13 17.67
      delay: 7.71 7.44
      OR: 42.64 34.40

      Bitswap: 52 6

      Total time = 13 min 9 sec
      SF = 31312
      CRC = 469
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 7
      ES = 7
      Latest 1 day time = 13 min 9 sec
      SF = 31312
      CRC = 469
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 7
      ES = 7
      Latest 15 minutes time = 13 min 9 sec
      SF = 31312
      CRC = 469
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 7
      ES = 7
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Showtime Drop Reason: 8000
      Last Retrain Reason: 8000

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: After some speed advice please...

      With over 1% errors in a short period you have wiring problems somewhere. It is hard what to advise when you do not have a test socket as the fault could be in your internal wiring or the external wiring/exchange. If you feel up to it you could disconnect your extensions and see how it checks out. I would not advise doing this until you have an IDC tool to replace the wires. If you feel up to this you should be able to fit an NTE5 box for yourself, which would make things easier all round.

      It is pointless even doing a quiet line test as the problem could be, and probably is, in your internal wiring.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      matthew1471's Avatar
      matthew1471 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: After some speed advice please...

      I'm very grateful for your advice everyone.

      I'll have a play around with the sockets, and fit an NTE5 box over Easter and see what happens.

      I'll report my findings... take it easy

    11. #10
      matthew1471's Avatar
      matthew1471 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: After some speed advice please...

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      With over 1% errors in a short period you have wiring problems somewhere. It is hard what to advise when you do not have a test socket as the fault could be in your internal wiring or the external wiring/exchange. If you feel up to it you could disconnect your extensions and see how it checks out. I would not advise doing this until you have an IDC tool to replace the wires. If you feel up to this you should be able to fit an NTE5 box for yourself, which would make things easier all round.

      It is pointless even doing a quiet line test as the problem could be, and probably is, in your internal wiring.

      Out of interest, what stat is it that gave you the > 1p% error rate?

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION