Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Connect Sky+ box with Sky Sagem router

    This is a discussion on Connect Sky+ box with Sky Sagem router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, Does anybody know how I could solve the following task? I have a Sky router with my PC ...

    1. #1
      Polly_31's Avatar
      Polly_31 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Connect Sky+ box with Sky Sagem router

      Hi all,

      Does anybody know how I could solve the following task?

      I have a Sky router with my PC connected to it. Due the space and length of the cables, I can't connect my Sky+ box to the same socket as I connect the Sky router

      Is there a way that I can connect my Sky+ box via my Sky router (ethernet connection?), PC or Switch to have remote access to my Sky+ box?

      I'm not sure if I could use the Modem Port on the PC as it is a RJ11 connector and also the Sky+ box has a RJ11 connector?

      Would be happy if anybody could help me with this task

      Thanks,
      Chris


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Connect Sky+ box with Sky Sagem router

      The Sky+ box doesn't plug into the router...it plugs into the phone line...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Connect Sky+ box with Sky Sagem router

      No, the Sky+ receiver must plug in to a phone point. The router does not have any of these although there must be one nearby as it also plugs into a phone point via a filter.

      You can use a phone extension cable to run the Sky+ receiver fron, just one of theose pre-made ones it fine, but do not use one to connect the router up as it will cripple your connection.

    5. #4
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Connect Sky+ box with Sky Sagem router

      my Sky+ box works find with about a 30 meter extention that goes under the carpet and into the next room into the phone socket.

      It has a phone modem built in and so you can get away with very long extentions.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Connect Sky+ box with Sky Sagem router

      My Sky+ box isn't even in the phone line!!...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      Polly_31's Avatar
      Polly_31 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connect Sky+ box with Sky Sagem router

      Just had a further look...

      Could I use this adapter: RJ11 to RJ45 Adapter (connect the RJ45 to the Sky+ router and the RJ11 to the Sky router)?

      Thanks

    8. #7
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connect Sky+ box with Sky Sagem router

      The sky+ box does not connect to the router, and there is no way of connecting through the router either for the Sky + box.

      1. Either leave it unplugged
      2. Extension lead

      Thats you're two options

    9. #8
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Connect Sky+ box with Sky Sagem router

      I have a 20m extension running from my Master wall socket, I split my ADSL and phone after the 20m run and have normal short connections to the Router and DECT phone. It then doesn't cripple the ADSL part. See my stats below.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Connect Sky+ box with Sky Sagem router

      Could I use this adapter: RJ11 to RJ45 Adapter (connect the RJ45 to the Sky+ router and the RJ11 to the Sky router)?
      The Sky+ box contains a dial up modem, not a router, it requires to be connected to the normal phone line through a filter.

      It then doesn't cripple the ADSL part
      Then you are one of the very lucky ones or using a very high quality extension. Your connection may be good but it would be even better connected direct to your master socket. Just take your stats from both positions and you will see.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION