Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Just changed Sky router for new Netgear router and getting slow connection

    This is a discussion on Just changed Sky router for new Netgear router and getting slow connection within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I had a problem with connecting a Revo Wifi radio to my Sky Netgear router and tried so many ...

    1. #1
      HappyHooliganUK's Avatar
      HappyHooliganUK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just changed Sky router for new Netgear router and getting slow connection

      Hi,
      I had a problem with connecting a Revo Wifi radio to my Sky Netgear router and tried so many different forums for advice, phoned Sky & Netgear (no help whatsoever). I finally came to the conclusion that it was the crappy firmware Sky had installed on their router which wasn't allowing my radio to connect to the net.
      I purchased a Netgear Rangemax DG834PN router and hey presto the radio was setup and playing in under 2 minutes.
      The problem I'm having now is that my xbox360 has a crappy connection and it takes longer than usual for web pages to download.
      Are there any settings I need to change in my new router that might speed things up or is it just the curse of Sky damning me for changing routers?
      Any help would be greatly appreciated.

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Just changed Sky router for new Netgear router and getting slow connection

      What was actually happening with the Sky router - as there's nothing wrong with them OR the FW on it (I'm using a Phase 2 Netgear and have had NO issues whatsoever in the year or so I've had it)...

      Chances are the radio is saturating the bandwidth, causing other devices to struggle...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      HappyHooliganUK's Avatar
      HappyHooliganUK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wink Re: Just changed Sky router for new Netgear router and getting slow connection

      Setting up the wifi radio has been the only problem I've had with the Sky router. I actually sent it back Revo saying it didn't work and they checked it on 2 different networks (1 being a Netgear one) and they said it connected straight away. I posted for help on this site and another and I had everyone confused as to why it would not connect. We came to the conclusion it was Skys firmware which was the problem. I ttok the radio into work and tried it on their BT network and it connected right away and was playing music in under 2 minutes.
      After no joy on my Sky network I went out and got a new Netgear router, did the password hack thing and got everything up and running in no time.
      I'm not running the radio the same time as the internet or the xbox, it all just seems to have slowed down. I'm wondering if maybe they have slowed down my connection as I have been canning it over the past few weeks?
      Is that possible?
      I've only downloaded about 15gb in the past month but I pay the 10 quid for unlimited?

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Just changed Sky router for new Netgear router and getting slow connection

      exactly, there is no cap on Max - what are your router stats?

      also, are you running wireless on the XBox? if so, i strongly advise against this and invest in some homeplugs - infinitely better and faster...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      HappyHooliganUK's Avatar
      HappyHooliganUK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just changed Sky router for new Netgear router and getting slow connection

      My Xbox is hardwired.
      Stats are:

      Router Status

      Account Name
      Firmware Version V1.03.30

      ADSL Port
      MAC Address 00:1B:2F:73:05:E3
      IP Address 90.202.19.187
      Network Type PPPoA
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.255
      Gateway IP Address 87.87.252.105
      Domain Name Server 90.207.238.97
      90.207.238.99

      LAN Port
      MAC Address 00:1B:2F:73:05:E2
      IP Address 192.168.0.1
      DHCP On
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0

      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB018e.d16f
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 1020 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 412 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

      Wireless Port
      Name (SSID) SKY
      Region Europe
      Channel 11
      Wireless AP Enabled
      Broadcast Name Enabled

      Does Your Internet Connection Require A Login? Yes
      Internet IP Address Get Dynamically From ISP
      Domain Name Server (DNS) Address Get Automatically From ISP
      NAT (Network Address Translation) Enable



      Anything else you need?

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Just changed Sky router for new Netgear router and getting slow connection

      The router stats must include the Attenuation, the noise margin, and the sync speed. Without these nothing can be said really.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION