Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    New installation in a new build house

    This is a discussion on New installation in a new build house within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; My son is looking at the sky package with BBand and sky talk plus maybe TV The house is a ...

    1. #1
      silverfox's Avatar
      silverfox is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Washington
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      The original Washington
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New installation in a new build house

      My son is looking at the sky package with BBand and sky talk plus maybe TV

      The house is a new build with no BT contract as yet but there does appear to be cables attached to the master socket. Have checked samknows and Ingleby Barwick has been LLU'd

      The question is.

      What is the best way to go about this regarding getting connected. Sign up to BT and then move or up that Sky will sign him up without BT. As the exchanged was LLU'd about 2 1/2 years ago it will be probable that all LLU slots will be taken up and have to go on connect.

      Some advise would be welcome from people in the know.

      Regards


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New installation in a new build house

      You have to have sky tv to have broadband and sky talk.

    4. #3
      silverfox's Avatar
      silverfox is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Washington
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      The original Washington
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New installation in a new build house

      Ok
      So he will have to go sky tv then then. It is the phone line that I am more interested in

    5. #4
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New installation in a new build house

      you can have your line rental with sky or BT, but you do need an active line to get a broadband serivce, once you have a contract with either then you can get sky broadband.

      Hope this helps.

    6. #5
      silverfox's Avatar
      silverfox is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Washington
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      The original Washington
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New installation in a new build house

      will BT charge a fee for connecting the line up then moving to sky BB, or will the fee be waved if he takes BT Broadband??

    7. #6
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New installation in a new build house

      This is not really my area, but i would say that BT would charge you for the intial line connection, but like i said who do you want to pay your line rental too, then you would need to ring them and they should be able to sort you out, but what ever you do i would have thought that BT would charge you to connect the line in the intial stage.

    8. #7
      markm9's Avatar
      markm9 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      NE England
      Posts
      201
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: New installation in a new build house

      i moved into new build last year, bt charged me 130. approx for connecting a new line, after couple months moved over to sky line rental with no hassle, just be careful BT may sign your son up to a 12 month line contract

    9. #8
      GSMGuy's Avatar
      GSMGuy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: HD+ Multiroom
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      526
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New installation in a new build house

      All BT new line connections are subject to a min 12 months contract - BUT only for the line rental, there is no min term as regards calls - So you can easily move to Sky Talk - HOWEVER - When we moved into our (brand new) house back in June 07, BT wanted a ridiculous amount for the new line, so we rang Sky, as a new sub in my OH name, and opted for Sky+ (free box) with multiroom (free install) and BB Max with talk anytime - Then when we got to the point where they wanted a tel no, we told them it was a new build etc, etc... They said they could provide the new line for 1 - yes 1 which they did... And sent BT around to install it! (same thing happened at our old house with Bulldog)

      So ring them and ask....

      As an aside, there was no way I was having cables nailed to the side of our house, so before the installer arrived, I drew feed lines from the dish site (checked other houses) up through the eaves and through the loft into the bedroom in the built in wardrobe, for the miultiroom, when he arrived, I just asked him for the reel and fished it through to him from inside the loft whilst he was on the ladder outside - The feed to downstairs is cable tied to the back of the adjacent drain pipe, until it meets the ground, where I have buried it under the soil, running along the front of the house, and up into the wall just abouvr the DPC, I also drilled the hole myself from outside in, as didn't want a wall plate and chipped brickwork...

      Mike

    10. #9
      enigma27's Avatar
      enigma27 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New installation in a new build house

      ok simple answer cummin up here.

      i moved into a new house with no activate connection.

      i had a choice. phone BT and pay 120 quid for a line or i phoned sky and they had the line activated for free and i pay them the line rental ( 10 quid a month )

      Once sky give you an activation date for you phone line and it gets activated you can them phone sky back and order broadband. the whoe process isnt quick ( took about three weeks from time i ordered the phone line with sky and the broadband getting activared ) but the process is easy enough.

      If ou get a BT line you will be in a 12 month contract so you would only be able to use sky talk and not move the whole line to sky.

      TBh if you have the choice of line provider there is no reason not to get the line through sky as its 1.50 cheaper a month then BT.

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New installation in a new build house

      IF you sign up to SkyTalk line rental without a line Sky can get BT to install it and take the line at the same time...the SkyTalk sales guys should've told you this...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION