Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 19

    Upstream higher than Downstream and poor speed

    This is a discussion on Upstream higher than Downstream and poor speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Thanks in advance for any help and advice! We were connected to BB Max on the 17th, the letter we ...

    1. #1
      Ric's Avatar
      Ric
      Ric is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Upstream higher than Downstream and poor speed

      Thanks in advance for any help and advice!

      We were connected to BB Max on the 17th, the letter we recieved stated we should get speeds of 4.5Mb - which would be much better than we had with BT. We're only about 2.5/3km from the exchange

      However, we're only getting speeds of around 1MB...sometimes less

      The stats when using the extension socket are normally around the same for downstream but upstream seems to fluctuate..

      Thursday

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 689 kbps 714 kbps
      Line Attenuation 60 db 35 db
      Noise Margin 11 db 9 db

      Friday

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 763 kbps 714 kbps
      Line Attenuation 60 db 35 db
      Noise Margin 10 db 9 db

      Saturday

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 763 kbps 686 kbps
      Line Attenuation 60 db 35 db
      Noise Margin 9 db 8 db

      I've now tried testing it via the Test socket and i'm now getting the following results which looks a bit odd seeings its the test socket ..

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 763 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 59 db 35 db
      Noise Margin 19 db 10 db

      and after 30mins

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 763 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 59 db 35 db
      Noise Margin 19 db 10 db


      When watching the stats i would expect the upstream/downstream to increase/decrease slighty over time but it just seems to sit at the same figures for the most..

      Is there anything i can do or check further before ringing up Sky?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Upstream higher than Downstream and poor speed

      You have noise on your internal wiring which is why you noise margin is much higher in the test socket.

      Because of this DLM has reduced the speed and capped you to keep the line stable. If you can sort out the noise or fit a filtered faceplate you can then ring Sky to get un-capped, this should see the speeds increase to 3mb ish.

    4. #3
      Ric's Avatar
      Ric
      Ric is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upstream higher than Downstream and poor speed

      Thanks Smithy, apologies if this is a dumb question..i have two other extensions in the house, one down one up in the bedroom but these are dead for whatever reason so how can i go about "sorting out the noise" based on the one master socket and one extension? I'll figure out if i have a filtered faceplate already in the meantime..

    5. #4
      Ric's Avatar
      Ric
      Ric is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upstream higher than Downstream and poor speed

      ...which i dont

    6. #5
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Upstream higher than Downstream and poor speed

      You need to check how the extensions are wired onto the socket, any bad wiring can draw noise interference onto the line. The test socket isolates the line so only what is on the test socket is attached to the line.

    7. #6
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upstream higher than Downstream and poor speed

      For a quick fix just disconnect the ring wires on terminal 3 on all of the phones sockets in your house, that should then give you your test socket result on you extensions. Then phone sky and ask then to uncap the speed.

    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Upstream higher than Downstream and poor speed

      Disconnecting the ring wire won't give him test socket results on the extensions

      The noise could be coming from anything, the other wiring, electrical interference or even the other sockets themselves, the only way to get test socket results (or near as dam it) is to fit a filtered faceplate and run a long ethernet cable or fit a specific filtered ADSL socket as an extension.

    9. #8
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upstream higher than Downstream and poor speed

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      Disconnecting the ring wire won't give him test socket results on the extensions
      Well when i disconnected the ring wires a bit back, i got the stats that i got from the test socket so it is very possible to get that result.
      I now do have a filtered faceplate.

    10. #9
      Ric's Avatar
      Ric
      Ric is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upstream higher than Downstream and poor speed

      I've run a quiet line test from the test and the extensions under different scenarios, no crackles or pops or "noise"

      Have disconnected ring wires from sockets, including the dead ones (?) and at moment stats are (using extension as i need rest!)

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1366 1882 0 939 5717 00:05:36
      LAN 100M/Full 2779 2195 0 5888 1067 00:07:06
      WLAN 11M/54M 134 0 0 41 0 00:06:53
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 763 kbps 718 kbps
      Line Attenuation 60 db 35 db
      Noise Margin 11 db 8 db

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Upstream higher than Downstream and poor speed

      Disconnecting the ring wire does not always make a difference, in your case it hasn't. You will have to fit a Filtered Faceplate to see a permanent improvement. With this done it looks like your line is capable of 3+Mb. When you have done this phone Sky, tell them you have improved your wiring, could you have the cap taken off your line?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION