Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    new set up

    This is a discussion on new set up within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just got connected to sky max.I have a slow connection.Is this normal at first.DownStream Connection Speed 497 kbps Up Stream ...

    1. #1
      rijam's Avatar
      rijam is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      new set up

      Just got connected to sky max.I have a slow connection.Is this normal at first.DownStream Connection Speed 497 kbps Up Stream Connection Speed 764 kbps.
      I was getting 8mb on o2 in the day


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      rijam's Avatar
      rijam is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: new set up

      Just changed set up and speed has improved .I now have asdl filter into phone socket and then modem into that.The phone side has an extension with sky and telephone into that

    4. #3
      rijam's Avatar
      rijam is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: new set up

      Connection Speed 7611 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 42 db 24 db
      Noise Margin 13 db 15 db
      Is the noise ok

    5. #4
      malcolmgb's Avatar
      malcolmgb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01283 EMBUR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: new set up

      Your figures are very close to mine, I was connected earlier this week.

      I am no expert but I will tell you what I have been told on here as a guide.

      You are currently on DLM, the 796 Kbs tells you that, your speed should increase by a large amount during/after 10 day period, if not a simple call to Sky will get them to manually adjust it. If you are connected to master socket, not test, then you are in a better position than me, I had to connect to test because of noise on my extension wiring.

      I will leave it to the experts to give you a more in depth answer.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: new set up

      You will not see a large increase, with your figures you should get 9+Mb, which should give you an actual download speed of about 8Mb.

      Make sure you keep your router plugged in and powered up during the first 10 days. Also make sure that everything connected to the phone line runs through a filter. If you have extensions hardwired to your master socket, check if there is a wire connected to Terminal 3, if there is, pull it off. This is the ring wire which can cause interference and is not required with filters. You may see an improvement in your noise margin.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      rijam's Avatar
      rijam is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: new set up

      Rang Sky and they have increased it slightly but they could not understand the Line Attenuation.When i first set up the Line Attenuation was 38 and now its 43.I am very close to the exchange

    8. #7
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: new set up

      Could be a line issue, are you on your main or test socket?

    9. #8
      rijam's Avatar
      rijam is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: new set up

      tried both and they are the same.Was on DLM but sky increased me by 1 meg
      Connection Speed 8029 kbps 766 kbps
      Line Attenuation 43 db 24 db
      Noise Margin 14 db 10 db

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: new set up

      ADSL2+ increases the attenuation reading by 3+ dbs. That probably accounts for some of the difference. I have never seen a jump of 5dbs, so something else may be wrong with the line.

      When you say you are 'very close to the exchange', how close do you mean? Put your number and post code into this page and it will give you the straight line and road distance to the exchange. Add a bit to the road distance for your line length.
      ::. Kitz - ADSL line and exchange checker .::

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      rijam's Avatar
      rijam is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: new set up

      Distance:- Direct: 1.38 km
      (appx)* By Road: 1.93 km
      I was getting 38 Line Attenuation
      Now it is 43

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION