Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 47

    Issues with my sky router

    This is a discussion on Issues with my sky router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Test is recommended or they will blame the extension....

    1. #31
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Issues with my sky router

      Test is recommended or they will blame the extension.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Issues with my sky router

      Rather than the upstream NM being 0, do you think it may be too good and the router is just interpreting it with that number like it does when it sees a negative number?

      His NM and attenuation is so good on his downstream, I cannot see why his upstream would be zero. Another glitch in the Sagem firmware seems logical.

    4. #33
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Issues with my sky router

      or a blatant fault on his line as the upstream is hardly EVER affected...but trying another router would prove this theory...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #34
      iTz FiNaL's Avatar
      iTz FiNaL is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD soon
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Issues with my sky router

      My wireless connection just got cut off, i disconnected and then reconnected to the network and my stats have changed

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 9725 kbps 574 kbps
      Line Attenuation 13 db 6 db
      Noise Margin 19 db 22 db


      Obviously this is better than before, but do you think it will improve some more because when i first got sky broadband i had 16 down and around 700 up. I am hoping that the speed will start increasing and i will get 11 Mbp/s on my wireless like before, although i don't why it suddenly went up again.

      Thanks
      Last edited by iTz FiNaL; 30-03-09 at 01:34 PM.

    6. #35
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Issues with my sky router

      The thing is you should be flying in at the full 16mb and even 24mb if Sky do upgrade people as suggested.

      It would be good if you could check with another router although if it continues to be stable at the current settings for a few days you can ring Sky and get them to remove the cap or suspend DLM.

      There is also a chance as IANTE says that you have a line or exchange fault, only thing to do is to keep a close eye on it for a week and see if it sticks.

    7. #36
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Issues with my sky router

      Are these last stats still from your extension or from the Test socket? If they are from the extension, someone has fixed a fault somewhere, if from the Test socket, then the fault may be in your internal wiring.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #37
      iTz FiNaL's Avatar
      iTz FiNaL is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD soon
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Issues with my sky router

      The latest stats were from th extension socket but as Smithy99 says i would like to get the full speed if possible, which i believe i can. I have tried my old netgear range max router before but that router would only allow me to have a local connection instead of connecting to the internet.

      Should i wait a few days to see if the speed improves and then phone sky? Or should i phone sky anyway?

    9. #38
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Issues with my sky router

      If I were you I would plug into the Test socket, phone Sky and get it fixed, then put it back into your extension. As I said before you may loose a bit of speed, which will not be much if any. The main thing is to get Sky to suspend DLM on your line and lift the cap completely.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #39
      iTz FiNaL's Avatar
      iTz FiNaL is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD soon
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Issues with my sky router

      OK ill phone sky today. Since i phoned them yesterday but was on hold for around 70 mins do you think i could tell teir one that i was being put through to CST and had a ticket number but had to hang up, would they the put me through straight to CST?

    11. #40
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Issues with my sky router

      If you have the ticket number there should not be a problem. Good luck!!

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION