Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    What is preventing me at connecting at ~16000kbps?

    This is a discussion on What is preventing me at connecting at ~16000kbps? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed 9213 kbps 764 kbps Line Attenuation 35 db 19 db Noise Margin 8 db ...

    1. #1
      Wam7's Avatar
      Wam7 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media Homeworks+ 300Mb
      Router: Asus AC68U
      Sky TV: SkyQ 1TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      What is preventing me connecting at ~16000kbps?

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 9213 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 35 db 19 db
      Noise Margin 8 db 17 db

      My broadband was activated yesterday. I am 896M from the exchange which also is 21CN. At first I was connecting at 7933 kbps. I called several times and was told that was the maxium that my line can take.
      I then came across a thread that stated that the line might be ADSL. So I asked SkyCS if they could switch to ADSL2+. After some uhming and ahring they said they had done that and with great aplomb stated that I could now get connect at 9mb instead of 8mb.
      I am still not statisfied (I came from Virgin 20mb) as my brother lives farther from his exchange, does not have 21CN yet and gets connected at ~15300.

      I need some more technical information to help me get a faster connection if possible. I am plugged into the test socket and don't have a phone connected to the line.
      Last edited by Wam7; 27-03-09 at 01:24 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      sdd's Avatar
      sdd
      sdd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01268
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SKY HUB SR102-WIRELESS ROUTER
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      267
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: What is preventing me at connecting at ~16000kbps?

      Don't think it really matters how near you are to the exchange
      its what your line can take

      Have you checked on here to see what your line max is?

      i only live up the road to my exchange but my line is max 5mg

      also as you have just got sky Broadband they may be just trying to see how stable you are before they put it up

      mine as just got up a bit and i have been with them over a year now

      hope you get it sorted soon.


      Nobody is Perfect.....I am Nobody....Therefore I am Perfect

    4. #3
      Wam7's Avatar
      Wam7 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media Homeworks+ 300Mb
      Router: Asus AC68U
      Sky TV: SkyQ 1TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What is preventing me at connecting at ~16000kbps?

      Yeah you maybe right. My actual distance from the exchange is 1.5Miles. I have been told that the maxium on my line is 9700kbps though I have often found that information given is not always precise which is why I want to verify this.

      I was told that I am still going through the stabilisation period, well actually that it has not even started yet so I need to wait the 10 days first.

      Can I leave it in the test socket permanently?
      Last edited by Wam7; 27-03-09 at 01:34 PM.

    5. #4
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What is preventing me at connecting at ~16000kbps?

      Quote Originally Posted by Wam7 View Post
      Can I leave it in the test socket permantly?
      I don't see any reason why you couldn't do that.

    6. #5
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: What is preventing me at connecting at ~16000kbps?

      Line att of 35 should theoretically give you 14,500.
      New customer = dlm, so leave it to stabilise for a week or so, if still not happy ring Sky.


    7. #6
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: What is preventing me at connecting at ~16000kbps?

      I doubt you will get close to 16mb with that attenuation, best you could hope for is 10-12mb with a good line.

    8. #7
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: What is preventing me at connecting at ~16000kbps?

      My line at attenuation of 36 gives 9-11 on both Sky and O2, so I assume that the OP could get slightly more but only if his wiring is all sorted and uses a filtered faceplate.

      the exchanges being 21CN or not in this case is immaterial as that is BT just getting their act together and upgrading their own equipment so they can offer ADSL2+ in the near future, both you and your brother are on Sky's own equipment and won't make any difference.

      You brother gets more speed than you as his line to the exchange is significantly shorter than yours.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION