Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 22

    For those of you who cannot access Ebay, MSN, Microsoft etc,

    This is a discussion on For those of you who cannot access Ebay, MSN, Microsoft etc, within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; the users that cant use msn msger is becoz its all to do with skys end. not missing dlls or ...

    1. #11
      skullkid's Avatar
      skullkid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: (WMLON)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      123
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      the users that cant use msn msger is becoz its all to do with skys end. not missing dlls or virus killers or firewalls

      ppl cant even view there home page, nore any other microsoft sub sites
      Last edited by skullkid; 25-09-06 at 11:43 PM.
      Motto - "Vis unita fortior"


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Krazy Kev View Post
      If you ping yahoo (which works) I get a reply OK, but from Microsoft (which doesn't work) I get no reply!
      IIRC you'll never get a response from microsoft.com. They're a prime candidate for various attacks and haven't responded to pings for at least a year or two.

    4. #13
      skalpel's Avatar
      skalpel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      107
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Krazy Kev View Post
      I have just tried this and rebooted still no luck.
      Done a bit of investigating and I think the problem is with Sky's DNS servers somewhere. If you ping yahoo (which works) I get a reply OK, but from Microsoft (which doesn't work) I get no reply!
      What response do you get to the command "nslookup www.microsoft.com" in a DOS box (without the quotes)?

      To others trying this - you can save a lot of copying and pasting by going Start>Run, typing "notepad.exe" (without the quotes) and hitting return - then copy and paste all of the commands into Notepad, then click File>Save As. In "Save as Type" select "all text documents" and then save the file to your desktop as runme.bat - doubleclick the new file on your desktop and it'll run through all the commands for you.

    5. #14
      Krazy Kev's Avatar
      Krazy Kev is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Answer from nslookup www.microsoft.com:

      *** Can't find server name for address 192.168.0.1: Non-existent domain
      *** Default servers are not available
      Server: UnKnown
      Address: 192.168.0.1

      Non-authoritative answer:
      Name: lb1.www.ms.akadns.net
      Addresses: 207.46.198.60, 207.46.199.30, 207.46.225.60, 207.46.18.30
      207.46.19.60, 207.46.20.30, 207.46.20.60, 207.46.198.30
      Aliases: www.microsoft.com, toggle.www.ms.akadns.net
      g.www.ms.akadns.net
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 26-09-06 at 12:08 AM. Reason: quoted it for you ;-)

    6. #15
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      *** Can't find server name for address 192.168.0.1: Non-existent domain
      *** Default servers are not available
      Server: UnKnown
      Address: 192.168.0.1
      Something not right there, 192.168.0.1 is your router ip

      Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
      (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

      C:\Documents and Settings\>nslookup www.microsoft.com
      Server: i-83-67-96-xxx.freedom2surf.net
      Address: 83.67.96.xxx

      Non-authoritative answer:
      Name: lb1.www.ms.akadns.net
      Addresses: 207.46.20.60, 207.46.198.30, 207.46.198.60, 207.46.199.30
      207.46.225.60, 207.46.18.30, 207.46.19.60, 207.46.20.30
      Aliases: www.microsoft.com, toggle.www.ms.akadns.net
      g.www.ms.akadns.net
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 26-09-06 at 12:08 AM.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #16
      skalpel's Avatar
      skalpel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      107
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      No, that's part of the Netgear's config - it runs a DNS proxy and adds itself as the primary name server via DHCP. It neatly avoids the problem of not knowing what DNS servers to give out when a client first connects before the router has connected to the internet and has itself discovered what name servers to use.

      Krazy Kev - that DNS lookup is fine, identical to what I get. I take it you've tried the other normal stuff (removing proxy settings, disabling software firewall, deleting coockies and cache) as well as the re-registering DLLs thing?

    8. #17
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      No, that's part of the Netgear's config - it runs a DNS proxy and adds itself as the primary name server via DHCP. It neatly avoids the problem of not knowing what DNS servers to give out when a client first connects before the router has connected to the internet and has itself discovered what name servers to use.
      Ahh I have turned DHCP off, so thats why then




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #18
      Krazy Kev's Avatar
      Krazy Kev is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      All the browsing problems seem to have been solved now, I have not changed anything so Sky/BT must have fixed the problems (hopefully!!!)!

    10. #19
      skullkid's Avatar
      skullkid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: (WMLON)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      123
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      wish they would fix mine lol
      Motto - "Vis unita fortior"

    11. #20
      skullkid's Avatar
      skullkid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: (WMLON)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      123
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      what ip range r u on Krazy Kev

      and can u use msn msger now?
      Motto - "Vis unita fortior"

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION