Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Results 31 to 35 of 35

    Upgraded from Mid to Max...Very little difference, if any!

    This is a discussion on Upgraded from Mid to Max...Very little difference, if any! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; You are getting just about the maximum from your line. A higher noise margin would indicate you had some more ...

    1. #31
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Upgraded from Mid to Max...Very little difference, if any!

      You are getting just about the maximum from your line. A higher noise margin would indicate you had some more speed but you are not too far above the 6.9db that Sky use as a minimum.

      If it's stable I would leave it alone.

      You could try getting your stats from the test socket just to be sure but with your attenuation you are actually doing really well.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgraded from Mid to Max...Very little difference, if any!

      thanks for the input smithy99, i will leave well alone.

    4. #33
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Upgraded from Mid to Max...Very little difference, if any!

      @Blythy
      To get back on topic, it does not appear that you have rebooted your router. Can you try this please. You are better doing a power cycle ie, switch the power to the router off for a minute then back on again. Check your stats.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #34
      blythy's Avatar
      blythy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sunderland, NESU
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgraded from Mid to Max...Very little difference, if any!

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      did you ever stop to think Sky were right in saying 8Mbps is the best your line can handle?...
      I have never said otherwise, I was just after the opportunity to achieve higher speeds, after all I am paying them for that opportunity and limiting me to ADSL and originally refusing to transfer me to ADSL2+ they were preventing that opportunity. Even if they were right

      If that's the best speed my line can get I have no qualms, I understand the limitations of ADSL, but it's always worth a try

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      @Blythy
      To get back on topic, it does not appear that you have rebooted your router. Can you try this please. You are better doing a power cycle ie, switch the power to the router off for a minute then back on again. Check your stats.
      I powered down the router and then powered it back up a minute or so later, no great difference.

      Code:
      Mode:			ADSL2+
      Channel:		Fast
      Trellis:		U:ON /D:ON
      Line Status:		No Defect
      Training Status:	Showtime
      		Down		Up
      SNR (dB):	7.0		13.5
      Attn(dB):	35.0		17.8
      Pwr(dBm):	1.3		12.8
      Max(Kbps):	6924		864
      Rate (Kbps):	7227		764
      I'm not sure of the relevance, if any, but the 'Down' reading of the Pwr(dBm) fluctuates constantly, from 0.0 up to around 20. I'm assuming that's simply a sign of an unstable line? However I have not noticed a blip of any sort with my downloads as it happens.

      Thanks all for your help, greatly appreciated

    6. #35
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Upgraded from Mid to Max...Very little difference, if any!

      There is definitely a fault either on your line or at the exchange. It appears that the fault effects that part of the bandwidth used by ADSL2+. If Sky refuse to do anything about it, then your best bet may be to get them to put you back on G.DMT. This should get your speed back up to 8Mb. I don't really understand why the Max rate for your line is showing as lower than your actual rate. This may be a consequence of the fault.

      did you ever stop to think Sky were right in saying 8Mbps is the best your line can handle?...
      If everyone did that there would be very few getting the maximum their line was capable of. They might have been right this time, but they are more often wrong.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION