Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 35

    Upgraded from Mid to Max...Very little difference, if any!

    This is a discussion on Upgraded from Mid to Max...Very little difference, if any! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just got off the phone with Sky. The rep kept telling me that 8mb was the fastest my line could ...

    1. #21
      blythy's Avatar
      blythy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sunderland, NESU
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgraded from Mid to Max...Very little difference, if any!

      Just got off the phone with Sky. The rep kept telling me that 8mb was the fastest my line could handle, and when I asked if I could be moved onto ADSL2+ he said that it wasn't configured in my exchange and refused to transfer me to CST.

      Any suggestions, or is it worth trying again?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Upgraded from Mid to Max...Very little difference, if any!

      he said that it wasn't configured in my exchange and refused to transfer me to CST.
      Then he is a liar or just plain ignorant. The only exchanges where ADSL2+ is not available are those on Connect. It is difficult to say what to do, but you could try phoning back in the hope you get a more understanding agent.

      Just to confirm it, can you either post your exchange name or put it in your profile to see if any of our members are on your exchange? They might be able to confirm what mode they are on.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #23
      blythy's Avatar
      blythy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sunderland, NESU
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgraded from Mid to Max...Very little difference, if any!

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Then he is a liar or just plain ignorant. The only exchanges where ADSL2+ is not available are those on Connect. It is difficult to say what to do, but you could try phoning back in the hope you get a more understanding agent.

      Just to confirm it, can you either post your exchange name or put it in your profile to see if any of our members are on your exchange? They might be able to confirm what mode they are on.
      Certainly, my exchange is Sunderland, NESU
      Samknows Broadband - Sunderland (NESU) Exchange

    5. #24
      blythy's Avatar
      blythy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sunderland, NESU
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgraded from Mid to Max...Very little difference, if any!

      Thought I would update... Phoned Sky back and thankfully got through to a helpful advisor, Tier 1, who changed me from G.DMT to ADSL2+. He warned me that my connection would be unstable but I said I'd be happy to give it a try for the time being, if I'm paying for an "up to 16mb" I'd rather give it a chance to get up to that rather than limit myself to an 8mb connection on ADSL.

      Anyway, as a result, my speeds have decreased. Here's my new stats (still in the test socket):

      ppp0 Link encap:Point-Point Protocol
      inet addr:90.202.84.212 P-t-P:87.87.250.227 Mask:255.255.255.255
      UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
      RX packets:22721 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
      TX packets:13034 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
      collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
      RX bytes:31593333 (30.1 MiB) TX bytes:714571 (697.8 KiB)

      Uptime 92201.31 78760.02
      Wan up 91602.31 78190.63
      adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 1
      Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 7422 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.9 13.5
      Attn(dB): 34.5 17.7
      Pwr(dBm): 13.5 12.8
      Max(Kbps): 7264 864
      Rate (Kbps): 7422 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 249(0) 24
      R: 6 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 54 68
      B: 248 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 6 16
      S: 1.0691 7.7037
      L: 1908 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 39086 36910
      SFErr: 15 1
      RS: 2345182 325664
      RSCorr: 152 0
      RSUnCorr: 493 0

      HEC: 14 0
      OCD: 5 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 10982232 1700099
      Data Cells: 674293 29283
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 91 1
      SES: 2 0
      UAS: 36 28
      AS: 628

      INP: 0.80 2.37
      PER: 16.03 17.81
      delay: 17.10 15.40
      OR: 29.92 33.23

      Bitswap: 211 14

      Total time = 1 days 1 hours 36 min 41 sec
      SF = 39086
      CRC = 15
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 9
      ES = 91
      Latest 1 day time = 1 hours 36 min 41 sec
      SF = 39086
      CRC = 15
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 9
      ES = 8
      Latest 15 minutes time = 6 min 41 sec
      SF = 25016
      CRC = 9
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 14070
      CRC = 6
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 9
      ES = 3
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 83
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Showtime Drop Reason: 1
      Last Retrain Reason: 1

    6. #25
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgraded from Mid to Max...Very little difference, if any!

      From looking at those stats i would say that there has to be a fault on the external line some where along the line, also is there any noise on the phone when you pick it up.

    7. #26
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Upgraded from Mid to Max...Very little difference, if any!

      well, you're now on adsl2+ and at the default SNR so unless this isn't in the test socket this is the best you'll get...

      remember, speed/attenuation estimates are just that - it doesn't mean you'll get what you can theoretically achieve...

      did you ever stop to think Sky were right in saying 8Mbps is the best your line can handle?...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #27
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Upgraded from Mid to Max...Very little difference, if any!

      I agree with Andy there must be an issue, an attenuation of 43.5 you should be seeing in excess of 12 meg/sec.

      Get a regular corded phone, plug it in, do you hear any line noise when using it.

      If so you can report a line fault to BT for line noise, DO NOT mention broadband as they will not help.

      Hopefully they can then sort out any problems.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    9. #28
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgraded from Mid to Max...Very little difference, if any!

      [QUOTE=Undecided Adrian;203738]I agree with Andy there must be an issue, an attenuation of 43.5 you should be seeing in excess of 12 meg/sec.QUOTE]

      Just thought i would tell you that you have put his attenuation at 43.5, when his stats say 34.5db.

      Just thought i would say.

      The quote went alittle wrong, but you get the idea.

    10. #29
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Upgraded from Mid to Max...Very little difference, if any!

      D'oh don't mind me, I'm still half asleep with the clocks going forward.

      But it still stands that the OP should be getting more, although I had an attenuation of 36 and had a very unstable 9-11 meg sec with Sky, that's why I moved to O2 and now the line is rock solid.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    11. #30
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgraded from Mid to Max...Very little difference, if any!

      I have just a quick question. I looked at the speed that you could get with a low noise line on this website, i just want to know if my stats would support that ot not, not too bothered just thought i would ask.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10239 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 40.0 db 23.1 db
      Noise Margin 8.1 db 12.5 db

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION