Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Sky broadband issues

    This is a discussion on Sky broadband issues within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I've had my Sky broadband max since December, and it's still not working right. It randomly slows to a crawl, ...

    1. #1
      Antimus's Avatar
      Antimus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLCBR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky broadband issues

      I've had my Sky broadband max since December, and it's still not working right.
      It randomly slows to a crawl, and I get packet loss, online gaming is laggy and games like Eve are impossible as the packet loss crashes the client.
      recently I find the the router shuts down, all lights apart from the power light go off, wireless stops working and to fix it the router needs turning off and on again, after about 5 minutes the net comes back.
      stats below:
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 17609 24818 0 1911 17409 00:25:27
      LAN 100M/Full 219 0 0 31 0 00:27:05
      WLAN 11M/54M 25286 18299 0 16886 1871 00:26:53

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15837 kbps 765 kbps
      Line Attenuation 23 db 12 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 12 db

      Anyone got any ideas? Thanks in advance


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky broadband issues

      Can you get the stats from the test socket (see sig for details) and also can you try wired instead of wireless.

      It does sound like a faulty router but there is a chance that wireless problems are crashing it causing it to hang.

      Stats don't seem too bad but there could be a little noise on the line.

    4. #3
      Antimus's Avatar
      Antimus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLCBR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky broadband issues

      through the test socket the stats are exactly the same, tried that the other day. I'll have a go through ethernet tonight.
      for the past few months while doing ping -t's I've seen steady latency of 32 with one in the region of 200-2000 every 20 seconds or so, and lost packets every minute or so.
      As you can imagine, it's really ruining my battlefield bad company scores, heh. Which coincidentally is plugged in through ethernet so wouldn't be affected if it was a wireless only issue

    5. #4
      Antimus's Avatar
      Antimus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLCBR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky broadband issues

      Still having the same issue, in fact been running some ping tests and when I ping IP addresses outside Sky.com I get a common problem, example below:
      Reply from 159.153.164.65: bytes=32 time=44ms TTL=113
      Reply from 159.153.164.65: bytes=32 time=919ms TTL=113
      Reply from 159.153.164.65: bytes=32 time=44ms TTL=113
      Reply from 159.153.164.65: bytes=32 time=44ms TTL=113
      Reply from 159.153.164.65: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=113
      Reply from 159.153.164.65: bytes=32 time=44ms TTL=113
      Reply from 159.153.164.65: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=113
      Reply from 159.153.164.65: bytes=32 time=44ms TTL=113
      Reply from 159.153.164.65: bytes=32 time=44ms TTL=113
      Reply from 159.153.164.65: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=113
      Reply from 159.153.164.65: bytes=32 time=44ms TTL=113
      Reply from 159.153.164.65: bytes=32 time=44ms TTL=113
      Reply from 159.153.164.65: bytes=32 time=947ms TTL=113
      Reply from 159.153.164.65: bytes=32 time=44ms TTL=113
      Reply from 159.153.164.65: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=113
      Reply from 159.153.164.65: bytes=32 time=44ms TTL=113
      Reply from 159.153.164.65: bytes=32 time=44ms TTL=113
      Reply from 159.153.164.65: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=113
      Reply from 159.153.164.65: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=113
      Reply from 159.153.164.65: bytes=32 time=44ms TTL=113
      Reply from 159.153.164.65: bytes=32 time=44ms TTL=113

      The spikes appear quite steadily.

      It's killing my Battlefield Bad Company scores, hehe.
      Thanks in advance for the help

    6. #5
      Antimus's Avatar
      Antimus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLCBR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky broadband issues

      Here are some tests on speedtest.net



      Tested both a few times, Maidenhead was always good, Derby was always bad, anyway, hope it makes sense to someone else.

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky broadband issues

      put it in the test socket and repost your stats...the SNR is the important figure...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      Antimus's Avatar
      Antimus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLCBR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky broadband issues

      This is through the cable, not wireless.

      I put it in the test socket when I first posted the thread and the results are identical to the first post.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky broadband issues

      Here are some tests on speedtest.net
      Just shows how crappy speedtest.net is. Use Sky User - Broadband Speed Tester

      If you don't use the wireless, try turning it off, see if it makes any difference. It does look like a router fault.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      Gazz380's Avatar
      Gazz380 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whitehead (NIWD)
      Broadband ISP: ADSL24
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Location
      N.Ireland
      Posts
      287
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

      Re: Sky broadband issues

      i would suggest the same, router fault looks likely, however post your results and if it is then its a simple call for a replacement

    11. #10
      Antimus's Avatar
      Antimus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLCBR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky broadband issues

      results from the skyuser test through network cable
      12 April, 2009 18:11:57 13624 Kbps 626 Kbps

      As I said, the speed is fine, its the packet loss and that really annoying latency spike

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION