Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 38

    speed stat check

    This is a discussion on speed stat check within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hello all has anyone noticed the speed going a bit slower than normal lately here are my stats as of ...

    1. #1
      doc12inch's Avatar
      doc12inch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hednedford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      speed stat check

      hello all


      has anyone noticed the speed going a bit slower than normal lately


      here are my stats as of now

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7551 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 32.0 db 18.7 db
      Noise Margin 9.4 db 14.0 db

      im normally getting about 850-890k a sec but it could be the time of day, it has been a bit slower quite a lot lately tho hence the post


      thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: speed stat check

      You could try Dr TCP if you have not already.
      Also i notice your speed is not very high for your attenuation, the speed calculator on this site says with your attenuation you could see 12 to 14Mb broadband, so it looks like there is some noise on the line. You should connect to the test socket and post the stats from there so see if it is an internal problem causing the noise, if it is you could use a filtered faceplate or just disconnect the ring wires from all of the phone sockets in the house.

      Hope this helps.

    4. #3
      doc12inch's Avatar
      doc12inch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hednedford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: speed stat check

      you wouldnt belive the trouble Ive had trying to get to the 12mb speed I should get


      ive tried test sockets - no joy, I found out my master is upstairs - tried that no joy, did you say their noise on the line, Ive checked the number thats been posted on the forum many times and my lines as quiet as a mouse in a field haha.

      I havent tried the filtered faceplate yet, I have however had a telecoms guy come round and he said my wiring is of a good standard and he disconnected the downstairs line and just tried the upstairs line and it still gave me the same speed - im not complaining I would really like the speed I should be getting

      Im also sure I havent got a ring wire connected, I have look at diagrams and cannot see what they are showing on my socket setup

      could it be sky capping me?

      any more ideas, im open to them

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: speed stat check

      you're slightly capped, the snr default is 6.9db, but unless the snr jumps up in the test socket then you won't get any more speed - theory might say 12Mbps but reality might not...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      doc12inch's Avatar
      doc12inch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hednedford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: speed stat check

      is it worth me calling sky?

      what do do I say to them to un cap me - also why am I capped?

    7. #6
      doc12inch's Avatar
      doc12inch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hednedford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: speed stat check

      heres the test socket stats


      definate improvement

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8244 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 32.0 db 18.7 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 14.0 db

      i was getting a noise margin of 6.9 a few months ago


      is it worth getting onto sky?

    8. #7
      doc12inch's Avatar
      doc12inch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hednedford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: speed stat check

      Quote Originally Posted by Andy17 View Post
      You could try Dr TCP if you have not already.
      Also i notice your speed is not very high for your attenuation, the speed calculator on this site says with your attenuation you could see 12 to 14Mb broadband, so it looks like there is some noise on the line. You should connect to the test socket and post the stats from there so see if it is an internal problem causing the noise, if it is you could use a filtered faceplate or just disconnect the ring wires from all of the phone sockets in the house.

      Hope this helps.

      with regards to the filtered faceplate

      my master socket is upstairs and i connect the 2nd socket downstairs (this does not affect my speed)

      would I only need to put a filtered face plate on the socket I connect to or the master upstairs

    9. #8
      doc12inch's Avatar
      doc12inch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hednedford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: speed stat check

      sorry another question again


      just saw the Iplate, this looks good and easy to do - is it a good at the normal filtered faceplate, if it is ill get 1 of them

      linky

      Interstitial Plate - IPlate - Broadband - Filters - Faster Broadband - BT IPlate! - Vispa Internet Shopping

    10. #9
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: speed stat check

      No, the i-plate only removes the ring wire from the setup, a filtered faceplate removes everything.

      A filtered faceplate is just as easy to fit as the i-plate so go for that.

    11. #10
      doc12inch's Avatar
      doc12inch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hednedford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: speed stat check

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      No, the i-plate only removes the ring wire from the setup, a filtered faceplate removes everything.

      A filtered faceplate is just as easy to fit as the i-plate so go for that.
      do I need to buy two or just the one for the master?


      also should I ring sky about the cap - does it seam worth it.

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION