Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Results 31 to 38 of 38

    speed stat check

    This is a discussion on speed stat check within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; one last double check when I ring sky do I say im not getting a good speed then keep saying ...

    1. #31
      doc12inch's Avatar
      doc12inch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hednedford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: speed stat check

      one last double check


      when I ring sky do I say im not getting a good speed then keep saying im not - then get put through to the other team who will actually listen to me and say can you check my line as I should be getting a better speed and see what they say


      just have to check so when I ring them im ready to say the right things at the right time


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: speed stat check

      Just tell the tier 1 agent you had issues on your internal wiring that are now sorted and you would like to go through troubleshooting for speed so that CST can look at your line and reconfigure it

    4. #33
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: speed stat check

      What are your present stats? Your original stats showed you were getting as much as your line could handle. If your noise margin has not increased you will be wasting your time asking for an increase.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #34
      doc12inch's Avatar
      doc12inch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hednedford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: speed stat check

      stats now

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8305 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 32.0 db 18.7 db
      Noise Margin 7.2 db 14.0 db

      ive seen my noise at 6.9db

    6. #35
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: speed stat check

      Your not capped, they will not be able to increase the speed at all, you would lose stability.

    7. #36
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: speed stat check

      Quote Originally Posted by doc12inch View Post
      stats now

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8305 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 32.0 db 18.7 db
      Noise Margin 7.2 db 14.0 db

      ive seen my noise at 6.9db
      Are those stats from the test socket.

    8. #37
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: speed stat check

      As I said much earlier in the thread, the problem is with your external line/exchange, whether BT or Sky want to admit it or not. Unless Sky agree to have your line and connection to the exchange properly investigated, you will get no more speed. The difference between 7.2 and 6.9 is so small it makes no difference. If you take your stats again you might find they are back at 6.9 or even lower. Unless your noise figure goes up into double figures and stays there, you will get nothing more out of your line.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #38
      doc12inch's Avatar
      doc12inch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hednedford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: speed stat check

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      As I said much earlier in the thread, the problem is with your external line/exchange, whether BT or Sky want to admit it or not. Unless Sky agree to have your line and connection to the exchange properly investigated, you will get no more speed. The difference between 7.2 and 6.9 is so small it makes no difference. If you take your stats again you might find they are back at 6.9 or even lower. Unless your noise figure goes up into double figures and stays there, you will get nothing more out of your line.
      ok thanks

     

     
    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION