Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    Moved to Mid....Now what

    This is a discussion on Moved to Mid....Now what within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey all, Hoping to learn a little from this thread as I'm intrigued into what's now happening to my line ...

    1. #1
      paulo de muchi's Avatar
      paulo de muchi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fulham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Moved to Mid....Now what

      Hey all,

      Hoping to learn a little from this thread as I'm intrigued into what's now happening to my line and what I can do (even if this is do nothing) to get the best from my line.

      As some of you may know I recently moved from Connect to Mid after space at the exchange became available. I ordered Mid and went live yesterday. This was really a stepping stone as eventually I want to move up to Max.

      So, yesterday (day 1 of mid) my stats were as follows....

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 33.0 db 22.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.3 db 14.0 db


      Speed tests produced about 6.5 meg. Top result.

      Today return home from a killer day sat with a bunch of Lawyers, and here's the stats.....

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7616 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 37.0 db 22.5 db
      Noise Margin 13.3 db 25.0 db

      So I have a couple of questions I was hoping someone could answer...

      1. Am I on ADSL2+? I know I can check with Mognuts utility but didnt want to start prattling with the router if I'm going through DLM

      2. Am I being DLM'd?

      3. When is it advisable to move to Max, will it affect the DLM process if I move up, may Skys systems interpret the change as a fault and reduce speeds etc?

      4. Why the frick has my line attenuation gone up, something I always associated with line length, and will it stay put reducing my sync speed? Any chance I can get speeds worth moving to Max?


      I find all this really fascinating and would really appreciate if someone could spare a few mins to answer these q's!

      cheers all

      paulo


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Moved to Mid....Now what

      You have been put on ADSL2+, which probably means DLM has started. Moving to ADSL2+ increases the attenuation by 3-4 dbs, hence the rise. At the moment DLM has capped your line at 7616, during the night it will reset your router and hopefully raise your speed back up. It seems to be very finicky and if there is noise on your line in the seconds it resets, it may further cap your line. Don't worry about it as it can be fixed manually if it does not work as it should.

      Keep your router plugged in as it usually does it's thing in the early hours of the morning. Have a look at the router log in the morning and you will see it has done the LCP down/up thing.

      It looks like you will get 9-10 Mb, so whether it is worth upgrading, is up to you. I would leave it till DLM has finished.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      paulo de muchi's Avatar
      paulo de muchi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fulham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved to Mid....Now what

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You have been put on ADSL2+, which probably means DLM has started. Moving to ADSL2+ increases the attenuation by 3-4 dbs, hence the rise.
      What a top post, just what I was after.

      Hmm very interesting, so can I expect my attenuation to settle back down to 33db? Interesting because the Sky checker guessed "you can receive between 8-16meg". 10meg is by no means disappointing, but has shaved off a couple of meg from what I'd anticipated on my previous attenuation.

      cheers all

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Moved to Mid....Now what

      it won't 'settle back down'- adsl2+ measures it like that and it'll stay like that...

      you could probably get 9-10Mbps tops...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      paulo de muchi's Avatar
      paulo de muchi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fulham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved to Mid....Now what

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      it won't 'settle back down'- adsl2+ measures it like that and it'll stay like that...

      you could probably get 9-10Mbps tops...
      Meh, not worth upgrading to max then really.

      Cheers

      Paul

    7. #6
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Moved to Mid....Now what

      I have an attenuation of 36 and although I could get 11 meg/sec in the morning it would drop down to 9 at night.

      So your pretty much better off at 8 anyways you should get that 24/7
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    8. #7
      paulo de muchi's Avatar
      paulo de muchi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fulham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved to Mid....Now what

      Quote Originally Posted by Undecided Adrian View Post
      I have an attenuation of 36 and although I could get 11 meg/sec in the morning it would drop down to 9 at night.

      So your pretty much better off at 8 anyways you should get that 24/7
      Bugger, oh well, beggers and choosers and all that. What a swizz, I was so excited on my speed potential based upon my Connect attenuation of 33db, I feel like a bit of an idiot putting that into the tool on this site that estimates ADSL2+ attenuation.

      Thanks again all, if anyone discovers a clever way to reduce attenuation let me know. Weird that I'm only 0.8km from exchange, my attenuation does seem comparatively high....

      cheers adrian

    9. #8
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved to Mid....Now what

      If you havn't already you could try disconnecting the ring wire from terminal 3 on any extensions you may have and also at the master socket, and see if there is any difference.
      Also i noticed others say that you are going throught DLM, but your upload speed from your stats is not correct, DLM normally ups the upstream to 798Kbps or something close to that.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Moved to Mid....Now what

      DLM normally ups the upstream to 798Kbps or something close to that.
      This only applies on a Max connection, it is different on Mid.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      paulo de muchi's Avatar
      paulo de muchi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fulham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved to Mid....Now what

      Quote Originally Posted by Andy17 View Post
      If you havn't already you could try disconnecting the ring wire from terminal 3 on any extensions you may have and also at the master socket, and see if there is any difference.
      Also i noticed others say that you are going throught DLM, but your upload speed from your stats is not correct, DLM normally ups the upstream to 798Kbps or something close to that.
      Hey Andy, cheers for the advice. I actually had a BT openreach engineer round just after xmas trying to work out why the frick my line was rubbish on Connect, turned out it was because I was on Connect.

      First thing he did was rip the ring wire out of the socket, well he pulled something out anyway, assuming that was what it was. Though the property is a new build so unsure whether that would be there in the first place....

      I am actually on Mid so my upstream is a lot lower than that, 412kbps.

      Cheers andy

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION