Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    Moved to Mid....Now what

    This is a discussion on Moved to Mid....Now what within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey guys, Sorry to give this thread a bumpety bump, just wondering if someone can shed some light on my ...

    1. #11
      paulo de muchi's Avatar
      paulo de muchi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fulham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved to Mid....Now what

      Hey guys,

      Sorry to give this thread a bumpety bump, just wondering if someone can shed some light on my stats now I've been on DLM for the past 10 days or so.


      Uptime 4544981.82 4505428.30
      Wan up 3956397.46 3922772.44
      adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 1
      Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 412 Kbps, Downstream rate = 7616 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 14.3 25.0
      Attn(dB): 37.0 22.5
      Pwr(dBm): 25.0 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 12392 516
      Rate (Kbps): 7616 412
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 13
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 59 70
      B: 238 12
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.0000 7.4418
      L: 2040 129
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 36223359 34625355
      SFErr: 277 2
      RS: 2354518360 2562255
      RSCorr: 170147 245
      RSUnCorr: 3886 0

      HEC: 223 0
      OCD: 3 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1983186830 573524360
      Data Cells: 86554857 17157706
      Drop Cells: 18998
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 1101 2
      SES: 29 0
      UAS: 3764 28
      AS: 588632

      INP: 2.00 3.96
      PER: 16.25 17.67
      delay: 16.00 14.88
      OR: 32.00 34.40

      Bitswap: 419 12275

      Total time = 1 days 14 hours 29 min 42 sec
      SF = 36223359
      CRC = 277
      LOS = 11
      LOF = 88
      ES = 1101
      Latest 1 day time = 14 hours 29 min 42 sec
      SF = 3211205
      CRC = 10
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5
      Latest 15 minutes time = 14 min 42 sec
      SF = 54255
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55365
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5316826
      CRC = 41
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 27
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55428
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55365
      CRC = 3
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55366
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Showtime Drop Reason: 1
      Last Retrain Reason: 1




      What I was particularly interested in is what the 'Max' rate that's quoted above is referring to?

      Also is my noise margin too high? When I went live as I've mentioned before it was the default 6.9db, however its jumped up to about 13db. Is this something Sky could change pretty easily so I can sync higher? I'm on mid getting 6.3meg. Considering the bump to Max if I can get more than 11meg....

      Cheers all, hope everyones enjoying British summer time!!



      paulo


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Moved to Mid....Now what

      basically, if you moved to Max you'd see speeds of around 12Mbps...as you're already on adsl2+ you can see the full potential of your live via the stats...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #13
      paulo de muchi's Avatar
      paulo de muchi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fulham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved to Mid....Now what

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      basically, if you moved to Max you'd see speeds of around 12Mbps...as you're already on adsl2+ you can see the full potential of your live via the stats...
      Ta mate! So thats what the figure means, interesting that it knows the potential you'd get. I'm assuming then Sky just cap you to mid, you upgrade and they let your speeds float up?

      Interesting

      cheers

      Paulo

    5. #14
      malcolmgb's Avatar
      malcolmgb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01283 EMBUR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved to Mid....Now what

      What do you use to get detailed stats like that?

    6. #15
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Moved to Mid....Now what

      no, you're meant to be set to 16Mbps and the line should adapt to conditions and give you the speed it can at the default SNR...doesn't always go like that (obviously)...

      having said that, you're capped for some reason to 7616kbps...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Moved to Mid....Now what

      DLM has been overcautious (again) and has capped your speed. With a noise margin of 14.3dbs, you should be able to get the maximum available to Mid. Call Sky and ask for the cap to be lifted as DLM has left your speed lower than necessary.

      @malcolmgb
      These stats are only available when you have the old DG834GT router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      malcolmgb's Avatar
      malcolmgb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01283 EMBUR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved to Mid....Now what

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      These stats are only available when you have the old DG834GT router.
      thanks Isitme so much information I think I need to get out more.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION