Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Speed drop

    This is a discussion on Speed drop within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi I have been with sky over six months now never a problem until now My speed has dropped from ...

    1. #1
      nookey's Avatar
      nookey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Speed drop

      Hi

      I have been with sky over six months now never a problem until now
      My speed has dropped from 8000kbps to 7616kbps overnight with nothing changing inside the house or to the pole(10ft away)

      My router stats are below

      Sagem F@ST 2504 [Sky Firmware]

      ADSL LinkDownstreamUpstream
      Connection Speed7616 kbps768 kbps
      Line Attenuation39.0 db22.0 db
      Noise Margin6.8 db14.0 db

      I am pluged into the bt master socket with no extentions on the line at all

      nookey


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed drop

      You are getting as much as the line can handle at the moment. Lines develop faults and it looks like yours may have. Just to rule out a faulty faceplate, plug into the Test socket if you have one, see if there is any difference. Also try another filter.

      You may also want to try another RJ11 cable if you have one, or even turn the RJ11 cable round and plug the filter end into the router.

      If these give no improvement, try a quiet line test by plugging a corded phone on its own into the Master/Test socket, dial 17070 option 2 and listen. You should not hear any noise, if you do report it to your rental provider as noise on your voice line. Don't mention broadband or they will do nothing but fob you off.

      Having said that you speed has dropped by less than 5%, it may very well pick up again tomorrow. Boot your PC first thing in the morning and see what you get.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      nookey's Avatar
      nookey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed drop

      Hi

      Done a reboot this morning and the speed is back up

      Here is my sync info

      Sagem F@ST 2504 [Sky Firmware]

      ADSL LinkDownstreamUpstream
      Connection Speed8096 kbps768 kbps
      Line Attenuation39.0 db22.0 db
      Noise Margin7.8 db14.0 db

      Thanx for the replys

      nookey

    5. #4
      nookey's Avatar
      nookey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed drop

      Hi

      Done a retest of speed with speed.io
      Last edited by nookey; 25-03-09 at 08:13 AM. Reason: more info info was wrong

    6. #5
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Speed drop

      Post a new set of stats, that speed test can be impacted in several ways

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed drop

      Done a retest of speed with speed.io
      There is not much wrong with that with a sync of 8Mb. You are on G.DMT so will not sync much higher. You could try to get through to CST and ask them to try your line on ADSL2+, which could potentially give you another couple of Mb. DLM/ADSL2+ is being applied to some lines so you may even be in line for an automatic upgrade.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      nookey's Avatar
      nookey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed drop

      Hi

      Here is my current stats

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7904 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 38.0 db 22.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.0 db 14.0 db

      This plugged into the master socket into the test port
      With no extensions in the house connected

      Getting around 8mb download with news demon download
      Which is good compared what i was getting from tiscali 3mb to 4mb at best

      Do you guys and gals think i should talk to support about changing from adsl to adsl2
      Or should i just leave it and be happy i am getting the speed i am getting

      Let me know what you think

      Also whats the chances of the line being updated with these new faster speeds
      that sky are sending letters out about
      Do you think they are changing everybody from adsl to adsl2 and then use SRA to control the line speed

      nookey

    9. #8
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Speed drop

      I would leave it as it is if it is stable.

      I cannot see how Sky could get anyone who is already around the maximum their line can handle any faster speeds.

      I think it may only apply to thouse lucky few who could get above the 16mb if Sky allowed it on their system.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION