Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 27

    New broadband, weird speeds and shut downs?

    This is a discussion on New broadband, weird speeds and shut downs? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Oh also my router is in a cupboard, should it be out or does it matter? If it should be ...

    1. #11
      canada16's Avatar
      canada16 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Cardiff
      Posts
      588
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New broadband, weird speeds and shut downs?

      Oh also my router is in a cupboard, should it be out or does it matter?

      If it should be out, is it ok on top of the sky hd box.

      Thanks so much guys


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      canada16's Avatar
      canada16 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Cardiff
      Posts
      588
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New broadband, weird speeds and shut downs?

      This is what I got, found out how to get stats:

      Firmware Version V2.02.44

      ADSL Port
      MAC Address 00:22:3f:58:19:95
      IP Address 90.217.120.161
      Network Type PPPoA
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.255
      Gateway IP Address 87.87.249.68
      Domain Name Server 90.207.238.97
      90.207.238.99

      LAN Port
      MAC Address 00:22:3f:58:19:94
      IP Address 192.168.0.1
      DHCP On
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0

      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version 7.03.01.66
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 7611 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 782 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

      Wireless Port
      Name (SSID) SKY59308
      Region Europe
      Channel 6
      Wireless AP enable
      Broadcast Name enable


      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 314158 489666 0 608 8122 22:12:06
      LAN 100M/Full 3839 0 0 6 0 22:13:38
      WLAN 11M/54M 487440 316804 0 8201 612 22:13:26
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7611 kbps 782 kbps
      Line Attenuation 36 db 21 db
      Noise Margin 15 db 8 db

      Not sure If I should have deleted some info off there for personal security?

    4. #13
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New broadband, weird speeds and shut downs?

      Ok, you are still in the initial DLM stages but when it is finished you should see 10-12mb on your line.

      You need to log into your router and goto the wireless setup or wlan. You should see the channel number in there and be able to swap it here, you may also want to change the mode to g&b (if it is set to auto).

      Do not put the router on top of the HD box, it runs too hot and the receiver may fail, try to keep it away from there if you can. In the cupboard should be ok as long as it has room to breath, dont cover it with anything.

    5. #14
      canada16's Avatar
      canada16 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Cardiff
      Posts
      588
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New broadband, weird speeds and shut downs?

      OK it was on g&b, if you say this is all normal then I will wait for a few days and not mess around with the channels as dont want to mess anything up.

      Thanks again everyone for your help, was about to get really mad for switching from virgin, but hey 10mb then download one tv show or something then your capped to 2mb, I hated virgin for that, I PAID FOR 10MB ... lol

    6. #15
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New broadband, weird speeds and shut downs?

      No problems changing the channel during DLM, that's fine, it only affects the wireless from the router to the PC si you would be best doing it now to see if this is the issue (which I'm sure it is).

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New broadband, weird speeds and shut downs?

      Change the Channel in your router to No 13. No 6 seems to be the default, so if your near neighbour is also on Sky, he is probably on that. If that does not improve it, try No 1 at the other end of the scale. You will not get full speed on wireless, there are always overheads and interference which will reduce your speed, Ethernet or powerline is the way to go.

      Your stats show you should get a very good speed when the line is finally fixed. 10-12 Mb should be well within your range.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New broadband, weird speeds and shut downs?

      how do you know the speed isn't up already??...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New broadband, weird speeds and shut downs?

      How do I know? By looking at the stats, they indicate a sync of 7611 with a noise of 15dbs, about 8 dbs to spare. Remember using wireless does not effect the rate the router syncs at, only the speed between the router and the pC.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New broadband, weird speeds and shut downs?

      I know, but some of us get a bit bored ...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New broadband, weird speeds and shut downs?

      I hope you are not at work playing silly games online when users desperately want to get through to CST.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION