Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Poor connection speed - line stats

    This is a discussion on Poor connection speed - line stats within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi there. I have 2 phone lines to my house. One older line that I was just using for voice ...

    1. #1
      Clabs's Avatar
      Clabs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Poor connection speed - line stats

      Hi there.

      I have 2 phone lines to my house. One older line that I was just using for voice calls, and another newer line that the company I was working for paid for. This was just for broadband (Nildram 8Mb Max).

      I have always managed a reasonable download speed of around 1.8Mbps and here are the line stats:

      Link Status: Up
      Upstream Speed: 192 kbps
      Downstream Speed: 2048 kbps

      noise margin upstream: 14 db
      output power downstream: 16 db
      attenuation upstream: 31 db

      noise margin downstream: 12 db
      output power upstream: 11 db
      attenuation downstream: 60 db

      I am no longer working for that company and the BT line and broadband are due to be cut off in the next couple of weeks.

      I thought I would try Sky broadband on my home phone line and ordered Max a couple of weeks ago. Router arrived a couple of days later. Once the broadband was activated, I plugged the router in but it wouldn't even sync from the master socket, though odly it would from the only wired extension in the house, albeit pretty dismally.

      I plugged into the test socket and things were a little better - here are the stats:

      Link Status: Up
      Upstream Speed: 768 kbps
      Downstream Speed: 379 kbps

      noise margin upstream: 9 db
      output power downstream: 17 db
      attenuation upstream: 40 db

      noise margin downstream: 25 db
      output power upstream: 12 db
      attenuation downstream: 62 db

      I have since replaced the faceplate with a proper broadband one and the stats remain the same plugging in via the broadband socket on there. The router has been up and stable for the last few days, with the same connection speed.

      What do my line stats look like for the two lines? I was happy with the almost 2Mbps download (am quite a way from the exchange and wasn't expecting anything more) but the Sky figures look pretty paltry and don't look like improving.

      Am I likely to have received similar performance on the Sky product if I had it installed on the newer line?

      Hope I make some sense here.

      Mark


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor connection speed - line stats

      At the moment you are being heavliy capped with a noise margin of 25db i would recommend phoning sky and get the connection speed increased.
      And no a new line would not improve your connection speed.

      I would also try disconnecting the ring wire, on terminal 3 on all your extensions because it looks like a noise problem, when you say it is better from the test socket. Also when you have the master socket faceplate of to use the test socket make sure there is not a dial tone on the extension.

      Hope this helps.

    4. #3
      Clabs's Avatar
      Clabs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor connection speed - line stats

      Thanks Andy for taking the time to read and respond.

      I tried disconnecting the ring wire - no difference - but I am now connecting via a proper broadband faceplate so that negates the ring wire and other extensions.

      I will give Sky a ring tomorrow and see what they can do.

      Won't hold my breath!

      Thanks again

      Mark

    5. #4
      Clabs's Avatar
      Clabs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor connection speed - line stats

      Ok - a little update. I called Sky this morning and was initially told I should wait the full 10 day settling in period before I could speak to someone in CST. I said I wanted to put on record within the 8 day cancellation period that I was not happy with the service and that I believed the circuit was being capped. I got put on hold for 5 minutes and was then told that the line was being capped. They said the line became unstable if they pushed the cap to 2Mbps and so now they have capped me at 1Mbps. Here are the latest stats:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1024 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 59 db 31 db
      Noise Margin 16 db 7 db

      Obviously this is a huge improvement over what I was getting, but still a bit disappointing considering I am receiving almost 2Mbps on my other circuit. Basically, they said that I could either put up with the 1Mbps cap or I could cancel.

      Do these new stats sound about right for what I am being told?

      Thanks again for any help and advice.

      Mark

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Poor connection speed - line stats

      you'll get more than 2Mbps - looking more like 3 uncapped...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Poor connection speed - line stats

      You are still being heavily capped. Get back on to them and ask for your speed to be increased. Explain that you previously had a higher speed with another ISP and had no problems. Furthermore you have improved your wiring and expect much more. You could potentially get about 4 Mbs, but it may not be stable.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Clabs's Avatar
      Clabs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor connection speed - line stats

      Thanks guys

      Well, they said they tested it at 2Mbps and it was unstable at that speed. I think I will wait till the training period is over and then call them again.

      At least I have put it on record that I am not happy with the current situation so I should still be able to cancel if they don't play ball.

      Thanks again for the help - very much appreciated!

      Mark

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Poor connection speed - line stats

      Anyone at CST with half a brain can see you're capped - if you've only spoken to tier 1 so far they'll tell you anything to get you off the phone...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Poor connection speed - line stats

      Your line is not training, if it were it would not be showing a 768 upload. The line would have to be really really bad to require a noise margin of 16 dbs to remain stable. 6.9dbs is the router default.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Poor connection speed - line stats

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      Anyone at CST with half a brain can see you're capped - if you've only spoken to tier 1 so far they'll tell you anything to get you off the phone...
      Either that or the agent followed the process and either gave a wrong answer or doesn't fully understand the issue. Tier 1 does not set out to get people off the line, if the customer calls back within a set time span it impacts stats and the agent gets into trouble. In this case its probably process + unsure agent = cck up

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION