Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Very very Poor Broadband (speed)

    This is a discussion on Very very Poor Broadband (speed) within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi guys, i was wondering if you could help, i moved house recently and in my new home i am ...

    1. #1
      Ryan_Gray's Avatar
      Ryan_Gray is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Very very Poor Broadband (speed)

      Hi guys,

      i was wondering if you could help,

      i moved house recently and in my new home i am getting very poor broadband speeds.

      The sky website said i should get speeds of up to 3mb ( a drop from my 8mb but i figured i could just get on with it) i have never got up to 3mb, i dont think ive ever got to 1mb.

      i usually average:
      DownStream Connection Speed 761
      UpStream Connection Speed 544

      i live 7km away fromt he exchange which i assume is the biggest issue. Is there anything i could do to help my speeds?

      if im playing xbox and someone goes on say facebook on the pc my xbox instantly starts lagging.

      its starting to frustrate me and i would like to know if anyone knows of any solutions to my problem.

      Many thanks in advance


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Very very Poor Broadband (speed)

      stats please!! (attenuation, SNR, etc.)...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      tenar's Avatar
      tenar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newcastle NINE
      Broadband ISP: sky fibre max
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      newcastle co down
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 41 Times in 39 Posts

      Re: Very very Poor Broadband (speed)

      best not to run pc and x-box at same time you just split the bandwith availble , just follow best practice remove all other equipment from sockets try router on its own ,if you have main socket with test socket (usally has horizontal line dividing faceplate) try that also try different dsl cable shorter the better yea also give any attenuation reading and snr

    5. #4
      Ryan_Gray's Avatar
      Ryan_Gray is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Very very Poor Broadband (speed)

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 761 kbps 544 kbps
      Line Attenuation 58.0 db 35.6 db
      Noise Margin 10.5 db 9.0 db

    6. #5
      Ryan_Gray's Avatar
      Ryan_Gray is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Very very Poor Broadband (speed)

      http://img301.imageshack.us/my.php?image=statsh.jpg - some of the other ones.

      is this ok?

      Thanks

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Very very Poor Broadband (speed)

      It looks like you connection is capped due to noise on the line. Plug into the Test socket, if you have one, check your stats and post them here.

      Don't bother uploading to imageshack, just copy and paste them to your post.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Ryan_Gray's Avatar
      Ryan_Gray is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Very very Poor Broadband (speed)

      hi, i just went to do that and looks like its already plugged into the test socket.

      is there anyway i can control the bandwith with the sagem sky router?

      such as set it up so that the xbox gets privelage over the pc?

      thanks.

    9. #8
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Very very Poor Broadband (speed)

      No, the router does not do QOS.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Very very Poor Broadband (speed)

      hi, i just went to do that and looks like its already plugged into the test socket.
      Are you sure, check the Test socket link below. You should get a far better sync with an attenuation of 58dbs. Many are getting over 3 Mbs with this attenuation. Remember if you are capped, your speed will not rise immediately, but the noise margin will. Also check that everything plugged into the phone line is connected through a filter.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      Ryan_Gray's Avatar
      Ryan_Gray is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Very very Poor Broadband (speed)

      i checked and yeah its definitely plugged into the test socket and every phone line has a filter plugged into it.

      does it seem like theres a problem?

      these are the stats non test socket:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 761 kbps 554 kbps
      Line Attenuation 58.5 db 35.7 db
      Noise Margin 13.3 db 9.0 db

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION