Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 34

    New user setup

    This is a discussion on New user setup within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Thanks for quick reply Paul. To be fair he was the 2nd person I spoke to I was told he ...

    1. #21
      malcolmgb's Avatar
      malcolmgb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01283 EMBUR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New user setup

      Thanks for quick reply Paul. To be fair he was the 2nd person I spoke to I was told he was Email Technical Help or something.
      Looking at my stats should I press for more speed, I have been told I should get around the 10Mb mark with my figures.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New user setup

      it's prob worth it, yes...you should see quite a bit more than you have currently - possibly 10Mbps but definitely 9Mbps...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #23
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: New user setup

      Email/ webmail is just tier 1 so thats no excuse lol

    5. #24
      malcolmgb's Avatar
      malcolmgb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01283 EMBUR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New user setup

      Spoke to Tier1 today about speed and was told I am on maximum for the line, they were not going to put me through to CST.

      I was told to do a virus check because I had 15 entries in my netstat log at that time, just checked again and now only have 1. Not sure why the large number before, I am very concious about security so I know it is clear. Have I blown my chance or do I try again?
      Sync at 11194Kbps

    6. #25
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New user setup

      Try again...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #26
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: New user setup

      Go back and try again, trouble is the fact that the tier 1 will check what your DSL avail stated when it was run, if this is close to what you have then they cannot escalate, also if more than 10 items in netstat they have to advise you to scan the pc or stop things from running at start up. Best bet is to make sure as little as possible is running call em up, sit through the TS and try as hard as poss to get through to CST. Failing that a kana form may help.

    8. #27
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New user setup

      I was told to do a virus check because I had 15 entries in my netstat log at that time
      This may have been valid several years ago before the advent of 'tabbed' browsing and regular security updates, nowadays it means little. At the moment I have 15 entries, 3 for my security updates, 1 for my email client, 1 for the sidebar and 10 for tabs. If Sky agents are going to use this as a fob off they should be asking what is using the entries, not how many there are. I doubt if many even know what 'netstat' does or means, just something they trot out parrot-wise to get users off the phone.
      Have Sky updated their avail speed procedure? It was never accurate in the past and to use it to stop a user getting a better speed is ridiculous, although I do understand if the stupid regulations tell them to use it, there is not much they can do. About the only thing anyone can do is say that their line has been repaired since the 'avail' was taken, so that it is now out of date. I can't help thinking that if Tier 1 were able to see the noise margin and were instructed on what it meant, it may make it easier to get action taken.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #28
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: New user setup

      Nope procedure still expects less than 10 entries, I get more than that on boot up due to AV software, firewall, MSN, IE loads 3 tabs plus Google toolbar.
      SNR oooh if only we had visibility of that, would make our lives easier, unfortunately you will still end up with some agents that have no idea and just look to end the call as soon as poss though.

    10. #29
      malcolmgb's Avatar
      malcolmgb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01283 EMBUR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New user setup

      Thanks for those replies it puts my mind at ease on things having never run 'netstats' before. I have done virus, trojan etc scans since and all negative as I expected.

      I also tried to explain that the original snap-shot was with a noisy line, since then rectified and a filter plate fitted, but I don't think she understood.
      Sync at 11194Kbps

    11. #30
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: New user setup

      Probably either not understood or she missed what you were saying, should have opened the ticket and put it through. Have you called previously on it? If so there would have been notes to check too. Either way the agent muffed it, call in this evening and hopefully you will get a different result.

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION