Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 29

    Slow Connection Speed

    This is a discussion on Slow Connection Speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; if this person has had Sky BB for 10-odd months then it won't be DLM BUT it's on adsl2+ and ...

    1. #11
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Slow Connection Speed

      if this person has had Sky BB for 10-odd months then it won't be DLM BUT it's on adsl2+ and capped...

      people are forgetting (or ignoring) when i've said that all LLU connections are being added to the DLM application and as such are being changed to adsl2+ or uploads going up to 800kbps even though they've NOT had DLM run on heir line...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow Connection Speed

      I think he is one of the 'forgotten' 300,000 who had their line 'improved' in the trial. There are no doubt thousands more who are in the same position.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Slow Connection Speed

      possibly, but everyone is getting moved over so you'll see it a lot more...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #14
      Barca9921's Avatar
      Barca9921 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Connection Speed

      Hi Guys.
      Thanks for all your help.
      I phoned Sky and they tell me : -
      1) The line is not capped.
      2) DLM determined that 4096 is the fastest speed for the line.
      3) It is ADLS2+.
      4) They could move me to ADSL but the fastest speed would be 4.5MB-5.0MB but it may cause faults on the line.

      Does all this sound reasonable ?

      Peter

    6. #15
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Slow Connection Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by Barca9921 View Post
      Hi Guys.
      Thanks for all your help.
      I phoned Sky and they tell me : -
      1) The line is not capped.
      2) DLM determined that 4096 is the fastest speed for the line.
      3) It is ADLS2+.
      4) They could move me to ADSL but the fastest speed would be 4.5MB-5.0MB but it may cause faults on the line.

      Does all this sound reasonable ?

      Peter
      1 - Yes it is, the noise margin clearly shows this, if they say that again, ask why your noise margin 12 12db when Sky set a default limit of 6.9db, yours is nearly double this figure.
      2 - It was wrong, and has been for many on a lot of occasions
      3 - If it is, it would be better on GDMT and more stable
      5 - GDMT should be more stable and you should bet 6-7mb according to your attenuation.

      Did you speak to CST, they are the only people that can help? You need to ring again and ensure you get past the first line support.

    7. #16
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Slow Connection Speed

      don't bother to question the SNR, half the agents don't know the default is 6.9db...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #17
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Slow Connection Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      don't bother to question the SNR, half the agents don't know the default is 6.9db...
      Well that is a sad statement, considering it's their job

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow Connection Speed

      Is this going to be the future?
      "DLM has run on your line and has determined it is only capable of xkbps, so we are not going to do anything to improve it. It does not matter that your noise margin can support much more, we don't know about noise margins anyway and we are not interested. Click"


      The OP should call back in the hope that he/she gets someone with something between their ears.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Slow Connection Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      Well that is a sad statement, considering it's their job
      but it's not - as the router FW is locked down we don't NEED to know anything like default SNRs other than the higher the more stable the connection...only reason I know is because of researching it myself...

      remember, Sky BB was marketed at people who literally want it to plug and play and work - that's it!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #20
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Slow Connection Speed

      something else to add...

      as to how 'we' know a line can have more speed is similar to the detailed stats of the V1 router...we can see the max rate the line can give so will gauge speed increases on that, e.g.

      Sync Speed - 2048 kbps
      Max Attainable - 4608 kbps

      that's a very simplified example of what we see but SNR is rarely something we'd consider...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION