Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 30 of 30

    Keep losing connection

    This is a discussion on Keep losing connection within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Thanks for that Isitme, I've tried finding the utility to find the lan mac number of my router but can't ...

    1. #21
      Maverich's Avatar
      Maverich is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Keep losing connection

      Thanks for that Isitme, I've tried finding the utility to find the lan mac number of my router but can't seem to locate it, don't suppose someone could point me in the right direction?

      I have spoken to my landlord to see if there is anyway I can use my master socket but short of him drilling a hole through the wall doesn't look like it's going to happen. I am happy with a speed of 3-4mb just what i'm after is a stable speed for when i'm gaming online.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Maverich's Avatar
      Maverich is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Keep losing connection

      Sorry found the number needed, these are the results i got,

      Test1 comprises of Best Effort Test: -provides background information.
      Your DSL connection rate: 5440 kbps(DOWN-STREAM), 448 kbps(UP-STREAM)
      IP profile for your line is - 4000 kbps
      Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 3684 kbps

      This good?

    4. #23
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Keep losing connection

      It is not too bad but your sync speed is a bit low compared to the Test socket and your Profile is a bit low for your present sync. If you leave things as they are and boot once a day, in the evening, your sync and profile may go up a bit. Don't boot too often or it may be seen as a fault on the line and you will get the opposite result. If your connection should drop it should reconnect itself with no input from you.

      Depending on how you are wired, it may be possible to install a dedicated ADSL connection by wiring into the back of a filtered faceplate. How many extensions do you have and how are the wired, individually from the Master or looped from one to another?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #24
      Maverich's Avatar
      Maverich is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Keep losing connection

      I have two extensions and I believe are looped from one to another, that bad?

      Am I right in thinking that Sky Connect really isn't good for online gaming? If this is the case should I be looking elsewhere?

      Thanks again for your help on this.

    6. #25
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Keep losing connection

      To be honest if you are a serious gamer and there is no prospect of getting Sky LLU, you would be better looking for another ISP. Several have dedicated gamer packages which guarantee a minimum speed. Plusnet lay out their terms clearly and I guess you will get what you pay for. Other ISPs. apart from Sky, may do the same.

      You will have seen the thread which deals with throttling on Connect, there is a good chance you will be cut back no matter what speed you are able to get in the 'good times'.

      If your wiring is looped it would be fairly easy to convert the first linebox in your flat/house to an NTE5. The existing Master would then be purely a junction box. It is a strange set up if the Master is not within your property.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #26
      Maverich's Avatar
      Maverich is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Keep losing connection

      I do consider myself a serious gamer and like you said after reading a lot comments on Sky throttling the line this really does concern me. There is also no prospect of LLU in this area.

      Not sure if you can help with this question and that is how do I go about switching to another ISP(thinking about idnet), I understand i'll need a Mac code but am worried that this will take long to get and will take me over the 8 day cooling off period thus having to pay for a 12 month contract, Is there a good way to approach this?

    8. #27
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Keep losing connection

      Just ring and tell them you need your MAC code as you intend to leave during your cooling off period, as long as youi ask for it within the period you will be fine.

      The have 5 days to get it to you and then you ring you new ISP, give them the code and away you go.

    9. #28
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Keep losing connection

      It does not matter what ISP you go to, you are better getting your wiring sorted out. If you only have one wire leading from the Master it is fairly simple.
      Unscrew the 2 plates on the Master and connect the wire going into your flat direct to the A-B terminals of the Master socket.
      Replace the first box in your flat with an NTE5 linebox with a filtered faceplate and connect the incoming wire to the A-B terminals.
      Connect the outgoing wire to your extensions to terminals 2 and 5 on the faceplate.
      You will now have an clean ADSL connection to the main phone line.
      Finally fit a blank faceplate to the outside box to prevent unauthorised use.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #29
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Keep losing connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      It does not matter what ISP you go to, you are better getting your wiring sorted out. If you only have one wire leading from the Master it is fairly simple.
      Listen to him, he is talking sense!!!

    11. #30
      Maverich's Avatar
      Maverich is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Keep losing connection

      I'll definitely get my line sorted. If it's as simple as the way you explain then I should have a problem doing it. This NTE5 linebox, is it expensive?

      Also i'd like to add that you guys are an asset to this site!! Thanks for all your hard work and time.

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION