Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 30

    Keep losing connection

    This is a discussion on Keep losing connection within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Maverich Always remember any help you need you just have to ask and there will be someone who can help...

    1. #11
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Keep losing connection

      Maverich Always remember any help you need you just have to ask and there will be someone who can help


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Maverich's Avatar
      Maverich is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Keep losing connection

      Not sure if it helps but here are my stats, at 8am and also a speed check I have run,

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5248 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 31 db 16 db
      Noise Margin 13 db 22 db

      today 08:03 4305 kbps (538kB/s) 335 kbps (41.9kB/s)

      I am happy with this but will wait and see what this is like upon my return from work. Also i'll try and get that master socket sorted as well to make this all more accurate.

    4. #13
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Keep losing connection

      Your attenuation should give you between 12-14mb, double what you are getting now, your line is capped at the moment or it could be DLM running if it a new setup.

      If you can get the router stats from the test socket that will give a better idea.

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Keep losing connection

      It's a Connect connection so he is not going to see 12-14 Mb for a long time.
      The line will still be training so it is important the wiring is up to scratch at the beginning or it could end up being artificially low. The Test socket is the way forward.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Keep losing connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      It's a Connect connection so he is not going to see 12-14 Mb for a long time.
      Sorry, yes but it does highlight the potential problem with the line, it is capable of more than 8mb even if the package cannot give it.

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Keep losing connection

      Couldn't agree more! He should be syncing at the maximum for Connect, which is 8128kbps I think. Hopefully we will get a look at the stas from the test socket.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      Maverich's Avatar
      Maverich is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Keep losing connection

      Hello, sorry for the long delay in getting the stats to you, I managed to get to the master socket at about 6pm but had to go straight away to play football, anyway.

      These are the stats,

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6816 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 30 db 15 db
      Noise Margin 10 db 26 db

      speed test,

      955kbps download speed
      315kbps upload speed

      The only major difference i'm noticing is the connection speed although the actual speed check is still working out about the same.

      hope this helps

    9. #18
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Keep losing connection

      The important figure is the noise margin. It is showing 10db at the test socket, this indicates that there is a problem with the internal wiring to the rest of the house.

      Can you leave the router in there? if you can it would be worth trying it for a few days to see if it is stable.

    10. #19
      Maverich's Avatar
      Maverich is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Keep losing connection

      I can try and see if I can leave it in there you see I need to physically go outside then inside but in a communal room (only one next door neighbour), May not be a great idea to leave the extension cable running outside.

      I assume it wasnt the fact i kept rebooting the router in the busiest time of the day to raise the noise margin as the connection kept dropping out?

    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Keep losing connection

      Unfortunately you will not see an immediate improvement in speed with the Connect package. It can take up to 3 days to improve. Your sync speed has improved considerably in the Test socket and you noise margin shows that you can reach the maximum speed.

      Try going to BT Performance Tester enter your phone number then your ADSL username. This will do an official BT speed test and show your present profile. Your ADSL username is <the LAN MAC number of your router, no colons, followed by> @skydsl You can also obtain this from the router by using one of the utilities available on the forum.

      Your Profile is the important part, getting this up will improve your download speed, but it requires that your line stays relatively clear of errors. If you can work out some way to use your Master socket, with a filtered faceplate, this would be much to your benefit.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION