Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Microfilter help, new customer from virgin? please

    This is a discussion on Microfilter help, new customer from virgin? please within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey This is my first time on adsl , so please be gentle. I have received my sky broadband pack ...

    1. #1
      canada16's Avatar
      canada16 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Cardiff
      Posts
      588
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Microfilter help, new customer from virgin? please

      Hey

      This is my first time on adsl, so please be gentle.

      I have received my sky broadband pack and I want to do the following but cant see how it would work, please help.

      BT line, one socket, needs to be connected to the SKY HD box for updates and movie rentals, also I need to hook up the phone and modem and PS3?

      Can this be done and how.

      I know to hook the modem up to the filter and plug my PS3 into the back of the router, but can the sky box go to the router as well?

      Thanks so much


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Microfilter help, new customer from virgin? please

      Nope, you will need a phone line splitter which goes after the filter.
      One of these , or similar will do the job.
      http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/RJ11-Phone-Lin...em280322754382


    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Microfilter help, new customer from virgin? please

      If you only have one socket, plug a filter in first, then a splitter for your phone and Sky HD box. Plug the router into it's socket on the filter. You can't plug the Sky HD box into the router. Well you can, but it will do no good as the ethernet port on the HD box is inactive.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      canada16's Avatar
      canada16 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Cardiff
      Posts
      588
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Microfilter help, new customer from virgin? please

      I though I might have needed a splitter.

      So which goes were, sorry to be a pain, this is what I think:

      Microfilter into base, then extender into ethernet cable into modem, PS3 into modem, then one line goes to phone then what? as have used all my ports.

      Is there a diagram somewere for what I need? or can someone please tell me.

      It was so easy with Fibre optic, but then again loosers at Virgin decided I was not worthy of 10mb between 5-00:01am.

    6. #5
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Microfilter help, new customer from virgin? please

      Filter into wall outlet, adsl cable to router, splitter where the phone would plug into filter, phone, hd box into splitter, ps3 ethernet to router same as pc ( assuming your pc is not wireless )


    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Microfilter help, new customer from virgin? please

      Filter in phone socket> router plugged into filter with the RJ11 plugged cable( small plugs at both ends) PC and PS3 plugged into router LAN ports with ethernet cable(larger plugs at both ends) Phone and HD box plugged into filter.

      I think you may be getting mixed up with the ethernet and RJ11 cables. Previously you would have connected to your cable modem with an ethernet cable. The router is connected to the phone by a different type of cable and it plugs into a special port on the router. The router has 5 ports, 1 for the ADSL and 4 for the local network.

      @Dholdi
      I think the move from Cable to ADSL is confusing the OP.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      canada16's Avatar
      canada16 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Cardiff
      Posts
      588
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Microfilter help, new customer from virgin? please

      Yeh deff confusing, but the spliter will help.

      Thanks so much guys, will go to town and but one and see how it goes.

      Cant wait for 10mb which is always 10mb, not 10mb then 2mb after 5:00pm when I get home.

      Thanks again guys

    9. #8
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Microfilter help, new customer from virgin? please

      Dont want to put a damper on things, but what are your connection stats ? Because you got 10meg with Virgin doesnt mean you will get 10 on adsl. Sync speed on adsl is dependent on the length of the phone line between your exchange and your house. Saying that whatever you get on max will be the same throughout the day with no throttling etc.
      Last edited by dholdi; 16-03-09 at 10:31 PM.


    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Microfilter help, new customer from virgin? please

      Plug in your router type http://192.168.0.1 in the browser address bar. Put in admin for the username and sky for the password. Scroll down and click on the 'Show Statistics' link and copy and paste the results here.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION