Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 21

    Internet has grinded to a halt! Need help!

    This is a discussion on Internet has grinded to a halt! Need help! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; A few days ago the Internet started to go really slow, loading a page would take about a minute sometimes ...

    1. #1
      nednarm's Avatar
      nednarm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Exclamation Internet has grinded to a halt! Need help!

      A few days ago the Internet started to go really slow, loading a page would take about a minute sometimes longer, I noticed on the router login page the download speed has gone down from 7800kb/ps to 2000kb/ps.
      I thought it might have just been the router so I connected a belkin router instead and used Sky router password generator to get the user name and p/word, it worked and it came up as 'connected' on the router page but it has exacty the same problem as it did before meaning it is not the router.
      I've tried connecting on several different pc's and macs via Ethernet and wireless but same problem occurs.

      It has now become unusable and hve had to resort to using my iPhone 3g to type this ( it's a nightmare)
      Please any input will b appreciated!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Internet has grinded to a halt! Need help!

      stats from where router is now and the test socket please (assuming you have one)...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      nednarm's Avatar
      nednarm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet has grinded to a halt! Need help!

      Are these the stats your after? I have no idea what a test socket is or what it does so im assuming i don't have one; i cant really research it very well as the internets playing up so badly.
      Note the download speed is only 1,800.
      Normally its about 8-9,000

      Firmware Version V2.02.44
      ADSL Port
      MAC Address 00:1b:2f:9f:11:f9
      IP Address 90.203.219.83
      Network Type PPPoA
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.255
      Gateway IP Address 82.108.11.88
      Domain Name Server 90.207.238.97
      90.207.238.99
      LAN Port
      MAC Address 00:1b:2f:9f:11:f8
      IP Address 192.168.0.1
      DHCP On
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0
      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version 7.03.01.66
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 1833 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 796 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38
      Wireless Port
      Name (SSID) SKY70973
      Region Europe
      Channel 5
      Wireless AP Enabled
      Broadcast Name Enabled

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Internet has grinded to a halt! Need help!

      No, we really need to see the attenuation and noise margin. Get them from the Show Statistics link in the Router status page. Copy and paste here.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      nednarm's Avatar
      nednarm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet has grinded to a halt! Need help!

      After speaking to someone at sky on the phone i was told to try the test socket which didnt make any difference.
      Are these the results you're after?

      System Up Time: 11:08:11
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 4277 6236 0 157 3746 00:38:35
      LAN 100M/Full 4859 0 0 24 0 11:08:06
      WLAN 11M/54M 105898 55388 0 3287 178 11:07:53
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2148 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 40 db 24 db
      Noise Margin 13 db 13 db

      EDIT: forgot to mention that he said he reset the exchanges or something which got the internet back up to speed for a few hours, but after that it dropped back down.

    7. #6
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Internet has grinded to a halt! Need help!

      You are capped, you need to ring them up again and ask for the cap to be removed.

      With your attenuation you should get around 8-9mb but you may have some noise on the line which is slowing you down, until this is sorted you will not get near that speed and the connection may become unstable.

      You need to look for the master socket, the test socket will be underneath the faceplate (see my sig for details). Plug the router into it and get the stats again, chances are you have a problem with your internal wiring.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Internet has grinded to a halt! Need help!

      After speaking to someone at sky on the phone i was told to try the test socket which didnt make any difference.
      As your line appears to be capped, the speed would not increase. What we are looking for is a large rise in the noise margin. Try it from the Test socket and post your stats again.

      If your stats above are from the test socket, it looks like there may be a problem with your external line. With the cap lifted you would see around 4Mbs, your attenuation should give twice that.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      nednarm's Avatar
      nednarm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet has grinded to a halt! Need help!

      When i plugged it in to the test socket i realised i didn't get any dial tone at all on the house phone, meaning i got no internet either.
      But as soon as i plugged it back in to the socket on the face plate it worked fine. I'm guessing its bad wiring or something, but its strange that its worked for a year now without any problems and has just started randomly

      EDIT: just got off the phone from sky and they told me it was an issue with BT, i rung them and told them the situation, she ran a test on the line and said it was fine and was told to go back and speak to sky.

      I have no idea what to do now, I don't know what the source of the problem is and everytime i speak to sky they tell me to use the test socket which doesn't flipping work.
      Last edited by nednarm; 16-03-09 at 06:49 PM.

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Internet has grinded to a halt! Need help!

      if you remove the front of the master socket to expose the test socket WILL kill all extentions - that's the point of it being a TEST socket...

      if your BB works properly in the test socket but not anywhere else then it's a wiring fault and it's up to you to fix it...calling BT will do nothing as their tests are for the voice side only and unless they send you an engineer they'll obviously say it's fine as I assume you can make/receive calls...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      nednarm's Avatar
      nednarm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet has grinded to a halt! Need help!

      I was also told that I have not been capped!

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION