Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 21

    Internet has grinded to a halt! Need help!

    This is a discussion on Internet has grinded to a halt! Need help! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy if you remove the front of the master socket to expose the test socket WILL kill ...

    1. #11
      nednarm's Avatar
      nednarm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet has grinded to a halt! Need help!

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      if you remove the front of the master socket to expose the test socket WILL kill all extentions - that's the point of it being a TEST socket...

      if your BB works properly in the test socket but not anywhere else then it's a wiring fault and it's up to you to fix it...calling BT will do nothing as their tests are for the voice side only and unless they send you an engineer they'll obviously say it's fine as I assume you can make/receive calls...
      just realised there was a kink in the adsl wire so thats why test socket didnt work, tried a different cable and worked, here are the results:
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 9 6 0 25 22 00:00:19
      LAN 100M/Full 179 0 0 728 0 00:01:05
      WLAN 11M/54M 85 230 0 261 899 00:00:52
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2499 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 39 db 23 db
      Noise Margin 9 db 15 db

      There doesnt seem to be a huge difference from before


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Internet has grinded to a halt! Need help!

      Well yo have. Your noise margin is nearly double the recommended figure Sky use of 6.9db.

      Get the stats from the test socket and post them, we need to see if there is a difference. When you take off the front of the master the phone lines on all the extensions will go dead, this is normal and as it should be. Once you have the stats you can put it back to normal.

      Whilst you have the front off the master socket remove any wires in terminal 3, you don't need it and it causes noise on the line.

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Internet has grinded to a halt! Need help!

      If the last result is from your Test socket, tt looks like you may have a fault on your external line. Can you try a quiet line test? Remove the faceplate, plug a corded phone into the Test socket. dial 17070 and take option 2. If you hear any noise on the line, report it to your phone rental provider as a noisy voice line. Don't mention broadband or they will do nothing. They are only responsible for providing a voice capable line and will have nothing to do with broadband problems.

      If the result was from the Master socket, you need to buy a Filtered Faceplate This will isolate your internal wiring from the ADSL signal and stop interference.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      nednarm's Avatar
      nednarm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet has grinded to a halt! Need help!

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      Well yo have. Your noise margin is nearly double the recommended figure Sky use of 6.9db.

      Get the stats from the test socket and post them, we need to see if there is a difference. When you take off the front of the master the phone lines on all the extensions will go dead, this is normal and as it should be. Once you have the stats you can put it back to normal.

      Whilst you have the front off the master socket remove any wires in terminal 3, you don't need it and it causes noise on the line.

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 86 59 0 1052 1940 00:00:13
      LAN 100M/Full 259 0 0 116 0 00:08:36
      WLAN 11M/54M 696 921 0 516 280 00:08:23
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2503 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 39 db 23 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 14 db

      tried removing wires from terminal 3 but not much difference

    6. #15
      nednarm's Avatar
      nednarm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet has grinded to a halt! Need help!

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      If the last result is from your Test socket, tt looks like you may have a fault on your external line. Can you try a quiet line test? Remove the faceplate, plug a corded phone into the Test socket. dial 17070 and take option 2. If you hear any noise on the line, report it to your phone rental provider as a noisy voice line. Don't mention broadband or they will do nothing. They are only responsible for providing a voice capable line and will have nothing to do with broadband problems.

      If the result was from the Master socket, you need to buy a Filtered Faceplate This will isolate your internal wiring from the ADSL signal and stop interference.
      got it il give that a go, why would this sort of thing start for no reason though?
      I haven't tampered with any of these sockets since broadband was installed and haven't add any new phones or anything for ages.

      Edit: Did the quiet test and i couldn't hear any noise at all to be honest, it sounded fine.
      What difference will that filtered faceplate make? il go down to currys now and see if they have one, its probably the only shop open now that might

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Internet has grinded to a halt! Need help!

      It isolates your extensions, I would not but a 13amp fuse from Currys or Dixons or PCW for that matter.

      I am not convinced your internal wiring is the only problem, if I were you I would try to get Sky to get the line properly checked for broadband. It may be OK for voice as BT say, but that does not mean it is OK for Broadband. BT will not do a broadband check for you, but they will if Sky instruct them.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      nednarm's Avatar
      nednarm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet has grinded to a halt! Need help!

      Spoke to sky last night when the speed was at 1,500 kbps and they referred me to the advanced technical team, he did some troubleshooting, e.g have you got microfilters in all your sockets etc, he did some tests to try and get the speed back up to normal but could only get a max of 2,500 kbps through the test socket.
      He said that more tests need to be done and I should have a call back within 72 hours, I'm doubtful this will actually happen though.
      After the phone conversation the speed dropped again down to 560 kbps and hasn't improved since.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 576 kbps 576 kbps
      Line Attenuation 36 db 22 db
      Noise Margin 15 db 13 db

      Edit: Thinking about it I'm sure the problem must be with the internal wiring, this sounds like an expensive and time consuming job to complete, won't all the wires need to be pulled out from inside walls?

    9. #18
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Internet has grinded to a halt! Need help!

      it's now been capped - more than likely from an auto regrade...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Internet has grinded to a halt! Need help!

      Edit: Thinking about it I'm sure the problem must be with the internal wiring, this sounds like an expensive and time consuming job to complete, won't all the wires need to be pulled out from inside walls?
      Fitting a filtered faceplate isolates the other wiring in your house so it does not matter what condition it is in. Getting and fitting one should be your first priority. Order on line and you will get it within a couple of days.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      nednarm's Avatar
      nednarm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet has grinded to a halt! Need help!

      Cheers for the help isitme, just ordered the filtered faceplate off ebay, should arrive on thursday. I will update when its here and post more stats!
      Thanks

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION