Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    random speeds

    This is a discussion on random speeds within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi All! In regards to speeds on my line, can anyone explain to me the following? i) at the moment ...

    1. #1
      unkle faz's Avatar
      unkle faz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dover
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Dover
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      random speeds

      Hi All!

      In regards to speeds on my line, can anyone explain to me the following?

      i) at the moment my download speed is running around 7meg, however i'm almost positive that the max i can get on my line is around 6meg?

      ii) Noise margin :-

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7297 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 38 db 20 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 17 db

      These are my stats as of 9.30am, however, come say 7-9pm, the noise margin on the downstream drops dramatically to around 1db - 0db - then the download speed drops to say 3meg with the noise margin at 7db and stay connect to this for around 48hrs then will increase to around 4-7meg?

      I've had this problem with sky broadband for a year with constant disconnections.

      All sockets with telephones have filters and I've also had an electrician check all sockets and he says all is fine on master socket and to all the extentions? He even reconnected the wires to make sure all was tidy and ok.

      Thanks in advance, and apologies for any slow responses from myself today as due to pop out in an hour for the day!

      Kind Regards,

      unkle faz


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: random speeds

      You got an electrician to check your phone wiring? How did he test back to the exchange?

    4. #3
      unkle faz's Avatar
      unkle faz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dover
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Dover
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: random speeds

      I rang BT to check if there were any faults on my line and/or on the exchange. Which all came back ok.

      To check each socket i used the sky router to compare the line noise, which all came back the same.

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: random speeds

      If you have a test socket, you need to connect the router in there to see if it continues. Chances are you have internal wiring issues, this can happen even if your sockets are all connected correctly, the wirkes act like antenna and introduce noise on to your setup.

      You should consider fiting a filtered faceplate at the master and running the router from there, use homeplugs if you have to to connect to the PC.

    6. #5
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: random speeds

      And then peak time contention/ load will increase the drop on your attenuation which will then have a knock on effect on stability and speed. If you have a test socket a set of stats showing SNR levels and a set from your normal socket may help.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: random speeds

      Your connection may do better on G.DMT, rather than the ADSL2+ it is on at the moment. You would probably loose a little speed, but would have better stability. You may just have been moved to ADSL2+ recently, which would account for the slight increase in speed you have noticed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION