Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 32

    Positive Assurance Needed.

    This is a discussion on Positive Assurance Needed. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; You can find out all you need to know about using another router by having a look through this section ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Positive Assurance Needed.

      You can find out all you need to know about using another router by having a look through this section Technical help

      Have you tried another PC connected directly to the router? As has been mentioned you have about the best stats possible, the problem seems to be on the LAN side of the router.

      For goodness sake don't phone Sky yet, all they will do initially is cap your connection.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      xitlife's Avatar
      xitlife is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01425
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Positive Assurance Needed.

      Ok i found a tool that enabled me to get a username from my Netgear router. Popped the info into my D-link, and it connected. The speeds were just as rubbish.

      Rate (Kbps): 16380 767

      SNR Margin (dB): 7.2 15.0
      Attenuation (dB): 26.5 12.6
      Output Power (dBm): 12.6 18.5

      We have detected that your ISP is Sky - Your current download speed is 728Kbps, and your current upload speed is 100Kbps.

      Running out of ideas.

    4. #13
      xitlife's Avatar
      xitlife is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01425
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Positive Assurance Needed.

      Hi there. I also tried in my laptop running Vista with the same results.
      Thanks

    5. #14
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Positive Assurance Needed.

      Well, this is strange. So you have tried another PC, another router. What's left.

      Can you try another ethernet cable?

    6. #15
      xitlife's Avatar
      xitlife is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01425
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Positive Assurance Needed.

      I plugged in a brand new cat5 cable from the Sky Router box, and plugged it into my laptop.
      I also only have a filter plugged into the test socket, and no phones.
      Download 544kbps
      Upload 177kbps

      It is broadband over LLU, does that make a difference.
      Thanks for all your ideas
      Darren

    7. #16
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Positive Assurance Needed.

      I appreciate it is a brand new cat5 cable, but have you tried a different one. I know it's doubtful, but it's worth trying just in case.

      When you plugged into the TEST socket, did you still use a filter. Have you got another filter you could try. And to confirm, you tried the TEST socket underneath the faceplate of the MASTER socket.

      Sorry if that sounds patronising, just want to make sure we have ruled out everyting so far.

    8. #17
      xitlife's Avatar
      xitlife is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01425
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Positive Assurance Needed.

      Sorry when i said i tried a new cat5 cable, i meant i tried a new one after you suggested it. I have used 4 different ones now. I have removed the front face on the socket to reveal the test socket. I have now swapped the filter with another brand new one from the netgear box.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 16380 kbps 765 kbps
      Line Attenuation 27 db 13 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 16 db

      Download 800kbps
      Upload 195kbps

      thanks

    9. #18
      xitlife's Avatar
      xitlife is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01425
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Positive Assurance Needed.

      The worrying thing is only last week when i was with BTBroadband (not LLU) using the dlink router, the same phone cables and same filter as i have tried since and i was getting 6-7mbps easily with no issues at all.
      Strange stuff.
      Many thanks

    10. #19
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Positive Assurance Needed.

      My mistake, i mis-read what you meant by new

      Hmmm, I'm just not sure what to say now. Your router is getting 16Mb, but for some reason you can't dl more than a mere fraction of that.

      It almost sounds as though Sky have got some form of traffic shaping on your account, which doesn't exist on the Max product.

    11. #20
      xitlife's Avatar
      xitlife is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01425
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Positive Assurance Needed.

      Many thanks for your time and ideas.
      If you think of anything else post. I will be lingering here for a while yet.
      All the best
      Darren

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION