Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Just connected - Advice needed!

    This is a discussion on Just connected - Advice needed! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, Connected today to Sky Connect with Netgear USB adapter. When I run the router config with patch cable it ...

    1. #1
      garyb's Avatar
      garyb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peterborough Central
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Peterborough UK
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just connected - Advice needed!

      Hi,
      Connected today to Sky Connect with Netgear USB adapter. When I run the router config with patch cable it was lightning fast but as soon as I used the wireless adapter it started to run incredibly slowly accessing sites, even this one.

      The adapter gives stats of between 11mpbs and 24mbps and the router is right next to the master phone socket downstairs, I am a 1 floor up. Pretty much using the default router config after changing passwords etc and stats as follows:
      Router Status

      Account Name
      Firmware Version V1.02.28

      ADSL Port
      MAC Address *********
      IP Address ********
      Network Type PPPoA
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.255
      Gateway IP Address *********
      Domain Name Server 87.86.189.16
      195.40.1.38

      LAN Port
      MAC Address *********
      IP Address 192.168.0.1
      DHCP On
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0

      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB018e.d16f
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 7456 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 448 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

      Wireless Port
      Name (SSID) LAN37
      Region Europe
      Channel 6
      Wireless AP Enabled
      Broadcast Name Enabled


      System Up Time 00:54:02
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 3130 4616 0 415 4221 00:23:40
      LAN 10M/100M 1009 0 0 32 0 00:54:00
      WLAN 11M/54M 8633 7415 0 3787 713 00:44:16


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7616 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 41.0 db 27.0 db
      Noise Margin 4.4 db 21.0 db

      [COLOR="Purple"]
      From Speedtest site
      Wireless - 9/25/2006 5:59 PM GMT 299 kb/s 364 kb/s 27 ms London ~ 50 mi
      Wireless - 9/25/2006 5:08 PM GMT 373 kb/s 370 kb/s 28 ms London ~ 50 mi
      Wireless - 9/25/2006 5:07 PM GMT 367 kb/s 374 kb/s 45 ms London ~ 50 mi
      Wireless - 9/25/2006 4:42 PM GMT 983 kb/s 374 kb/s 72 ms London ~ 50 mi{/COLOR]
      Cat5 cable - 9/25/2006 4:11 PM GMT 4736 kb/s 363 kb/s 37 ms London ~ 50 mi

      Any ideas why I am browsing so slowly?

      Thanx in advance

      G


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      vishal's Avatar
      vishal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenton Road (LWKROA)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      NW London
      Posts
      268
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      have you tried the tcp optimiser on your wireless connection.

      looks like your wired connection is fine, not full speed but i suspect thats just the speed test.

      also is auto 108 mbps set on the router, some people have had more success with this.

    4. #3
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi Gary

      Damn your noise level is very low

      Have you change the Mode: from g & b to Auto 108 if not try that.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    5. #4
      garyb's Avatar
      garyb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peterborough Central
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Peterborough UK
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanx again.
      Moved the router and filters to another BT socket upstairs [3rd floor] and signal went to 96% & 56mbps. Changed settings form g & b to Auto 108 and signal down to 71% & 38 mbps. Still seems sluggish browsing pages though.

      Does the seting here mean my line is running at 6944 kbps?

      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB018e.d16f
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 6944 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 448 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

      >>Damn your noise level is very low<<
      Is that good or bad?
      Sorry for being thick, 1st time with Wireless setup!

      G

    6. #5
      vishal's Avatar
      vishal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenton Road (LWKROA)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      NW London
      Posts
      268
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      DownStream Connection Speed 6944 kbps
      that does mean your connected at that speed.

      the noise level is the adsl line noise level, higher being better.
      when the figure drops below 6 the line/connection can become unstable.

    7. #6
      garyb's Avatar
      garyb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peterborough Central
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Peterborough UK
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanx,
      Thats a bit annoying as last night at 11:30 I couldnt get a speedtest to run or even visit skyuser.co.uk to browse the forum. The router also showed the local time as being 2 hours ahead of UK time, and but morning its back to UK time!

      This morning at 07:15 downstream is higher, noise up a tad as follows:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8128 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 41.0 db 27.0 db
      Noise Margin 5.1 db 22.0 db

      Signal - 71% & strength 38mbps

      I have just ran a speedtest and figures were decent again!

      9/26/2006 6:27 AM GMT 5576 kb/s 374 kb/s 77 ms London ~ 50 mi

      Looking at the above would you say its my router location thats the problem, as the line seems to show I am gettimg good speeds?

      Thanx as always
      G

    8. #7
      TELEMETRY's Avatar
      TELEMETRY is offline Sky User Clan Member
      Exchange: Gravesend
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Gravesend
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Connection speed

      I suffered a similar fault initially with my service, low noise snr, If you have opted for the max service (upto 16mb) it may be that your line is not capable and therefore you are generating errors on the line. I had a similar issue with my line and I'm afraid that the only way you can improve your noise margin is to either improve the line or cap down the service, I have since had my service capped down to 7mb and my noise margin has lifted to 15db but the important thing is that now I have a stable connection.
      For interest last year I had an adsl fault on my line whilst the engineer was there I got him to test my line capacity 1.6km from the exchange, the results were 6 - 8mb speed, there is no way that I could ever get a 16mb speed with the current cabling. Talk to Sky report your faults and they will probally cap your service down. 10 for an uncapped 7mb service is still cheap, especially when I was paying 24 for a 1mb service.

      Best of luck
      Last edited by Wheelie; 26-09-06 at 11:14 AM. Reason: Please do not quote the preceding post.Please use QUOTE sparingly please use @User Name this helps keep the forum tidy thanks

    9. #8
      garyb's Avatar
      garyb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peterborough Central
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Peterborough UK
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hi & thanx for your detailed reply.
      Until January I am on SkyBB Connect package which is up to 8mb. I am 1.3KM away from the exchange and they extimated speeds of 4.5mb and above, which is what the router shows the line to be achieving. Is it worth asking SkyBB to get me a stable line in exchange for speed?

      Thanx again
      G
      Last edited by garyb; 26-09-06 at 02:06 PM.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION