Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Unavailable Site Test

    This is a discussion on Unavailable Site Test within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I really need assistance to help debug a problem please............ www.uktrainsim.com ( 209.85.59.35 ) is inaccessible to me on SKY. ...

    1. #1
      bravedan's Avatar
      bravedan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton (SDLTTLH)
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Littlehampton, West Sussex
      Posts
      93
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unavailable Site Test

      I really need assistance to help debug a problem please............

      www.uktrainsim.com ( 209.85.59.35 ) is inaccessible to me on SKY. (It's OK via other ISPs on same computer via dial-up (two differing ISP's), so not a computer problem this end). (I am a freeware provider [ or content creator ] to this site, when I can get there!!!)

      The server I need to reach states they are NOT blocking anywhere on route, and SKY say they are not blocking me getting there, so stalemate!!!!

      If you have a moment, could you please:-

      1. Try to access www.uktrainsim.com in your browser, and report results here.

      2. If unable to access, please try Start, Run, cmd (return) and then try the following from the "dos" prompt:-

      tracert www.uktrainsim.com (return)

      or

      tracert 209.85.59.35 (return)

      And wait while it lists each server hop on route.

      If it fails to reach the site, you'll get some "timeout" lines as it reports each failure in server hops on the route....and if so please report the line above the first failure here.

      Thanks for your attention...............!!!!
      My Bus speed is 26 mph, what's yours??


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      bravedan's Avatar
      bravedan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton (SDLTTLH)
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Littlehampton, West Sussex
      Posts
      93
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Yup, OK..................but I'm a long way beyond that with this example, and with an experienced IT friend as the site owner and a sympathetic Site Host prepared to run tests back into SKY from inside their system from workstation to edge server.............and one good example may be what's needed to topple the dominos.

      All I need is to know if it's generic across SKY users, and being stopped at the same hop.

      Dave
      My Bus speed is 26 mph, what's yours??

    5. #4
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I can access it with no problems and here is my tracert
      Microsoft Windows [Version 5.2.3790]
      (C) Copyright 1985-2003 Microsoft Corp.

      tracert www.uktrainsim.com

      Tracing route to www.uktrainsim.com [209.85.59.35]
      over a maximum of 30 hops:

      1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
      2 45 ms 42 ms 58 ms cr0.lwstan.uk.easynet.net [195.189.158.250]
      3 29 ms 28 ms 28 ms 80.238.47.225
      4 38 ms 40 ms 38 ms ip-89-200-132-53.ov.easynet.net [89.200.132.53]

      5 37 ms 38 ms 37 ms te-3-3.r00.londen05.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net [83.231.14
      6.65]
      6 38 ms 38 ms 38 ms xe-3-2.r00.londen03.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.3
      .46]
      7 37 ms 38 ms 62 ms xe-0-1-0.r22.londen03.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250
      .2.77]
      8 105 ms 106 ms 105 ms p64-1-0-0.r21.nycmny01.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.25
      0.2.38]
      9 106 ms 105 ms 105 ms xe-0-3-0.r20.nycmny01.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250
      .2.32]
      10 111 ms 112 ms 112 ms p64-2-0-0.r21.asbnva01.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.25
      0.2.181]
      11 145 ms 144 ms 144 ms p64-1-1-0.r20.dllstx09.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.25
      0.5.24]
      12 144 ms 143 ms 144 ms ae-0.r21.dllstx09.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.2.5
      9]
      13 149 ms 148 ms 147 ms p64-1-1-0.r21.hstntx01.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.25
      0.4.69]
      14 148 ms 148 ms 150 ms as-0.r02.hstntx01.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.5.3
      1]
      15 167 ms 148 ms 148 ms as-1.r00.hstntx01.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.2.5
      6]
      16 156 ms 150 ms 149 ms ge-9.ev1.hstntx01.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.11.
      134]
      17 149 ms 150 ms 150 ms gphou2-209-85-1-28.ev1.net [209.85.1.28]
      18 150 ms 150 ms 149 ms gphou2-209-85-1-108.ev1.net [209.85.1.108]
      19 150 ms 149 ms 150 ms ev1s-209-85-59-35.ev1servers.net [209.85.59.35]


      Trace complete.
      Taken from the site
      Visit the UKTrainSim Route Registry to find out anything you want to know about routes available for MSTS
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #5
      Colin57's Avatar
      Colin57 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I couldn't get there and here's my output:

      Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
      (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

      C:\Documents and Settings\PC>tracert www.uktrainsim.com

      Tracing route to www.uktrainsim.com [209.85.59.35]
      over a maximum of 30 hops:

      1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
      2 54 ms 32 ms 31 ms cr0.ndsit.uk.easynet.net [195.189.158.45]
      3 25 ms 26 ms 25 ms 82.111.96.1
      4 25 ms 26 ms 27 ms ge-2-0-0-45.br1.bllon.uk.easynet.net [82.109.182
      .65]
      5 27 ms 25 ms 26 ms ge0-0-0-0.gr0.bllon.uk.easynet.net [207.162.204.
      1]
      6 96 ms 97 ms 96 ms so0-2-0-0.br0.bwnyc.us.easynet.net [207.162.205.
      102]
      7 97 ms 96 ms 97 ms fast0-0.iix-igr01.nycl.twtelecom.net [198.32.160
      .35]
      8 * * * Request timed out.
      9 * * * Request timed out.

    7. #6
      bravedan's Avatar
      bravedan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton (SDLTTLH)
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Littlehampton, West Sussex
      Posts
      93
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks so far Guys!!!!!!

      Interesting that the time out is so different in the hops Colin57. My system always times out at EXACTLY the same point...INSIDE the provider's own server net.....I don't want to lead the witness and say exactly where yet.............

      If your time out is ALWAYS after 198.32.160.35 time after time, you are being stopped way before their net, and a lot of potential reasons for failure can be discounted. Is it consistent??

      Need a wider info base as yet..........but thanks..........
      My Bus speed is 26 mph, what's yours??

    8. #7
      moshady's Avatar
      moshady is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Works fine for me too, result below.



      Tracing route to www.uktrainsim.com [209.85.59.35]

      over a maximum of 30 hops:



      1 18 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.1.1

      2 61 ms 46 ms 58 ms cr1.thwo.uk.easynet.net [195.189.158.146]

      3 49 ms 32 ms 32 ms 82.111.97.17

      4 33 ms 33 ms 32 ms ge1-3-0-41.br1.enslo.uk.easynet.net [217.204.92.33]

      5 33 ms 34 ms 36 ms so1-2-3-0.br1.thlon.uk.easynet.net [195.172.211.174]

      6 50 ms 34 ms 35 ms ge0-0-0-0.gr1.thlon.uk.easynet.net [207.162.198.13]

      7 51 ms 102 ms 101 ms so0-0-0-0.br1.hsnyc.us.easynet.net [207.162.205.138]

      8 121 ms 121 ms 101 ms so0-0-0-0.br1.hsnyc.us.easynet.net [207.162.205.138]

      9 103 ms 102 ms 103 ms so0-1-1-0.br1.bwnyc.us.easynet.net [207.162.205.129]

      10 104 ms 102 ms 103 ms ge0-3-0-47.br0.bwnyc.us.easynet.net [207.162.197.89]

      11 118 ms 197 ms 102 ms fast0-0.iix-igr01.nycl.twtelecom.net [198.32.160.35]

      12 118 ms 194 ms * core-01-so-1-0-0-0.nycl.twtelecom.net [66.192.240.197]

      13 * 147 ms 204 ms dist-02-so-1-1-0-0.hsto.twtelecom.net [66.192.246.7]

      14 226 ms 156 ms 149 ms dist-02-so-1-1-0-0.hsto.twtelecom.net [66.192.246.7]

      15 169 ms 193 ms 152 ms hagg-03-ge-1-0-0-538.hsto.twtelecom.net [66.192.246.210]

      16 149 ms 185 ms 204 ms gphou2-209-85-1-28.ev1.net [209.85.1.28]

      17 226 ms 205 ms 149 ms gphou2-209-85-1-108.ev1.net [209.85.1.108]

      18 170 ms 205 ms 147 ms gphou2-209-85-1-108.ev1.net [209.85.1.108]

      19 225 ms 204 ms 204 ms ev1s-209-85-59-35.ev1servers.net [209.85.59.35]



      Trace complete.

    9. #8
      steve medlock's Avatar
      steve medlock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Tracing route to www.uktrainsim.com [209.85.59.35]
      over a maximum of 30 hops:

      1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms Blackie.mshome.net [192.168.0.1]
      2 42 ms 41 ms 39 ms cr0.ndsit.uk.easynet.net [195.189.158.45]
      3 33 ms 33 ms 34 ms 82.111.96.1
      4 34 ms 34 ms 137 ms ge-2-0-0-45.br1.bllon.uk.easynet.net [82.109.182
      .65]
      5 35 ms 34 ms 34 ms ge-1-1-0-0.br1.thlon.uk.easynet.net [82.108.6.11
      8]
      6 34 ms 34 ms 35 ms ge0-0-0-0.gr0.thlon.uk.easynet.net [207.162.198.
      12]
      7 102 ms 34 ms 102 ms so0-0-0-0.br1.hsnyc.us.easynet.net [207.162.205.
      138]
      8 102 ms 101 ms 102 ms ge0-0-0-47.br0.hsnyc.us.easynet.net [207.162.197
      .41]
      9 101 ms 101 ms 103 ms so0-1-1-0.br1.bwnyc.us.easynet.net [207.162.205.
      129]
      10 103 ms 102 ms 101 ms ge0-3-0-47.br0.bwnyc.us.easynet.net [207.162.197
      .89]
      11 103 ms 102 ms 102 ms ge0-3-0-47.br0.bwnyc.us.easynet.net [207.162.197
      .89]
      12 104 ms * 102 ms fast0-0.iix-igr01.nycl.twtelecom.net [198.32.160
      .35]
      13 * * * Request timed out.

    10. #9
      Andy_G's Avatar
      Andy_G is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EAROC
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Rochford
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      No probs for me if it helps:
      Tracing route to www.uktrainsim.com [209.85.59.35]
      over a maximum of 30 hops:

      1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
      2 43 ms 45 ms 55 ms cr0.eaewd.uk.easynet.net [195.189.158.57]
      3 30 ms 29 ms 29 ms 82.111.103.65
      4 29 ms 31 ms 30 ms ge-1-0-1-44.br0.thlon.uk.easynet.net [82.110.247
      .193]
      5 31 ms 31 ms 30 ms ge0-0-0-0.gr0.thlon.uk.easynet.net [207.162.198.
      12]
      6 98 ms 31 ms 135 ms so0-0-0-0.br1.hsnyc.us.easynet.net [207.162.205.
      138]
      7 99 ms 98 ms 97 ms ge0-0-0-47.br0.hsnyc.us.easynet.net [207.162.197
      .41]
      8 98 ms 97 ms 98 ms so0-1-1-0.br1.bwnyc.us.easynet.net [207.162.205.
      129]
      9 99 ms 98 ms 98 ms ge0-3-0-47.br0.bwnyc.us.easynet.net [207.162.197
      .89]
      10 98 ms 97 ms 98 ms ge0-3-0-47.br0.bwnyc.us.easynet.net [207.162.197
      .89]
      11 100 ms 98 ms 99 ms fast0-0.iix-igr01.nycl.twtelecom.net [198.32.160
      .35]
      12 144 ms 144 ms 101 ms core-01-so-1-0-0-0.nycl.twtelecom.net [66.192.24
      0.197]
      13 147 ms 145 ms 146 ms dist-02-so-1-1-0-0.hsto.twtelecom.net [66.192.24
      6.7]
      14 145 ms 145 ms 145 ms 64-129-54-2.static.twtelecom.net [64.129.54.2]
      15 144 ms 144 ms 144 ms gphou2-209-85-1-28.ev1.net [209.85.1.28]
      16 145 ms 144 ms 144 ms gphou2-209-85-1-108.ev1.net [209.85.1.108]
      17 145 ms 145 ms 144 ms ev1s-209-85-59-35.ev1servers.net [209.85.59.35]


      Trace complete.

    11. #10
      bravedan's Avatar
      bravedan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton (SDLTTLH)
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Littlehampton, West Sussex
      Posts
      93
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks Guys, here's a precis of stuff from this site and elsewhere on this specific site access:-

      NOT consistent across users.

      When fails, NOT consistent as to point in routing or timing of hop.

      MY experience:-

      Activated 18/9, NO access to UKTS (www.uktrainsim.com) AT ALL.

      19/9 lots of "freezing", VERY unreliable. NO access UKTS
      ditto ditto ditto, really awful service...........
      23/9 NO freezing, quick access..........BUT still NO UKTS
      24/9 NO freezing, quick access..........BUT still NO UKTS
      25/9 lots of freezing.........NO access UKTS, no ping, no tracert pass, consistent fail at exactly same point in hops as every time tried since 18/9............

      THEN SUDDENLY IT WORKS (with nothing changed this end!!).

      Have just spent a while trying to get to fail.......router and PC reboots, etc, etc..........but now currently 100% connecting to UKTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
      My Bus speed is 26 mph, what's yours??

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION