Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Sky BB installation problem

    This is a discussion on Sky BB installation problem within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I am assisting my neighbour who has just paid Sky to install his router and set up broadband for his ...

    1. #1
      john9159's Avatar
      john9159 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky BB installation problem

      I am assisting my neighbour who has just paid Sky to install his router and set up broadband for his laptop.
      Sky visited, did not have a router, departed, came back, engineer installed router but hadn't a clue about the software installation, departed never to be seen again.
      I step in and install the router (wireless) and software and get confiramtion that the software had successfully been installed.
      Subsequently we get repeat messages on screen saying:
      "Your activation date has passed but you are still not online"
      What exactly does this mean? The activation date given in a letter was 22/02/09 but this is when the engineer attended minus the router and just strolled off.
      The troubleshooting options to click on were meaningless, "try again" and "exit and eject CD".

      Thank you


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Shadowhunta's Avatar
      Shadowhunta is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01420
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky BB installation problem

      That means that your broadband has'nt been switched on yet..i got a similar message but when i plugged my own router in and got the login and password sorted it worked fine..so i guess its also possible you have a duff router out of the box.
      You don't need the cd to do anything really, it should just plug in and go...but if you are having problems it might be best to phone sky and ask them whats going on, tbh i'm a sky user myself and i've had a few problems..the technical stuff i can just about work out..but there are others here much more experienced in all things sky and i hope they can help you better than i

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky BB installation problem

      Is the internet light in the router on showing green?

      Can you enter the router settings and do a Sky Test. If you are not connected this should give you an error number which you can report to Sky support.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      john9159's Avatar
      john9159 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky BB installation problem

      Thank you for the reply/ies, problem now solved, engineer came out late on Tuesday, don't know what he did until I go round to neighbour.

    6. #5
      davedarave01uk's Avatar
      davedarave01uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin + Vivaciti
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky BB installation problem

      I get the same message.
      Just wondering if I should do the same

    7. #6
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sky BB installation problem

      Depends, what lights are lit on the router, how are you set up on the telephone line, are you on the main socket, is everything filtered? The message on the CD just means the installer has failed to find an internet connection when it has looked.

    8. #7
      john9159's Avatar
      john9159 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky BB installation problem

      Tchhh, engineer came round, connected router to another BT socket, system worked until next day when the internet connection failed again.

      How does one enter the router settings to do a Sky Test?

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky BB installation problem

      open your browser and go to 192.168.0.1, using admin as the username and sky as the password

      Sky Test button is at the bottom of the router status page...although I can tell you them now...

      Error code 100 - no sync
      Error code 2/300 - no IP (exchange issue/duff router/suspended router)
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION