Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Reset router now half speed?

    This is a discussion on Reset router now half speed? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi basically a while ago after DLM my speeds were quite low and somone who worked at sky tweaked my ...

    1. #1
      kaosNW's Avatar
      kaosNW is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Exclamation Reset router now half speed?

      Hi basically a while ago after DLM my speeds were quite low and somone who worked at sky tweaked my settings and sorted it, i was getting great service at about 13.2Mb I was happy with this and left everything as it was and it worked flawlessly

      However for the first time this morning somone turned my router off at the wall, so its been off for about 6 hours, now when i turned it back on its only syncing at 7611! why is this?

      please somone help
      im on BB max

      heres the stats
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 3479 4657 0 0 0 0:09:06
      LAN 15 0 0 0 0 0:12:13
      WLAN 7701 5897 0 0 0 0:11:46
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7611 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 31.5 db 15.9 db
      Noise Margin 18.0 db 14.5 db

      nothing changed just turned the router off and had a drop of almost half!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Reset router now half speed?

      Not sure why but it looks like you have been capped and maybe DLM has ran on the line.

      You will have to ring Sky to get the cap lifted.

      Are you sure it wasn;t turned on and off a few times in succession? If it was DLM may have seen this as a fault.

    4. #3
      kaosNW's Avatar
      kaosNW is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Reset router now half speed?

      thanks for the reply, DAMN nope it was switched off once and left off, ill give them a ring asap thanks

    5. #4
      kaosNW's Avatar
      kaosNW is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Reset router now half speed?

      Just phoned them and was told, it looks like DLM has capped the line AGAIN! so he said hes created a ticket that says to deactivate DLM on my line and uncap it and it should be delt with within 72 hours, he said theres no way he could deactivate it or uncap me as it needs to be done by the 'higher level'

      hope it works!

    6. #5
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Reset router now half speed?

      Quote Originally Posted by kaosNW View Post
      Just phoned them and was told, it looks like DLM has capped the line AGAIN! so he said hes created a ticket that says to deactivate DLM on my line and uncap it and it should be delt with within 72 hours, he said theres no way he could deactivate it or uncap me as it needs to be done by the 'higher level'

      hope it works!
      It will, CST can do it as they speak to you.

      As soon as they get the message you should be back to normal.

    7. #6
      kaosNW's Avatar
      kaosNW is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Reset router now half speed?

      thanks, thats good to know, Im a little angry though as i explicitly asked him if there was any way i could get it done there and then, he said no it can only be done by them and due to procedures they have to follow it will take 72 hours! does anyone no if this includes weekends? :S

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION