Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    help plz

    This is a discussion on help plz within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I had my sky broadband activated on monday but the light on my router keeps flashing amber, I had alot ...

    1. #1
      donovanbdebbie's Avatar
      donovanbdebbie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01753523062
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      help plz

      I had my sky broadband activated on monday but the light on my router keeps flashing amber, I had alot of problems with aol before, ive got no problems with the line, followed all the instructions but the light keeps flashing, it says access local only. can anyone help
      debbie
      Last edited by donovanbdebbie; 06-03-09 at 09:34 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: help plz

      Can you post your setup please? Are you on your main telephone socket via a filter, no extension in use? Any other sockets on the line in use and are they all fitted with the adsl filter before anything is plugged into them?
      You may just need to call sky tier 1 as this happens now and then but its not that painful a fix.

    4. #3
      donovanbdebbie's Avatar
      donovanbdebbie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01753523062
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: help plz

      im on the main telephone socket, got no extentions and have adsl filter plugged in
      thanks

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: help plz

      You will probably have to call Sky support, but before you do, try resetting the router by pushing a biro into the reset hole on the rear. Hold it in for about 10 secs, or until the lights flash on the front. If it still does not connect, call Sky and explain your problem.

      If you have an NTE5 linebox, remove the faceplate and plug into the Test socket. See link below. This may speed things up when you phone Sky. Also try it with different filters, so that you can say you have done so.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      donovanbdebbie's Avatar
      donovanbdebbie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01753523062
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: help plz

      Thanks for your help. Phones sky did everything they told me to still not working. Dont no what else to do

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: help plz

      What did Sky say? Did they promise to get back to you? If they didn't, try phoning again, try to get through to the CST if Tier 1 are unable to do anything. Usually they can sort you out. If you get no joy, phone Customer Relations, not support and tell them your story. If you phone 0207 705 3000 and ask to be put through to Customer Relations, not Care, you may get somewhere.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      donovanbdebbie's Avatar
      donovanbdebbie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01753523062
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: help plz

      Ok thanks I will try that

    9. #8
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: help plz

      Out of curiosity Whats the first 6 characters of the Mac Address on the router?

      I know theres been a faulty batch sent out sometime last week/ 2 weeks go.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: help plz

      Surely if Sky support are doing their job properly they would see that the router is faulty. I don't understand any support that would just leave it unfixed. Boots and backsides come to mind.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: help plz

      If the router is flashing amber still I would hope that at the very least a ticket is now open for CST. If not an agent needs dealing with.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION