Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Wierd problems

    This is a discussion on Wierd problems within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ive got the Sagem F@st router and tonight ive noticed that when i try to get to certain sites that ...

    1. #1
      Trebor901's Avatar
      Trebor901 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thatcham
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wierd problems

      Ive got the Sagem F@st router and tonight ive noticed that when i try to get to certain sites that are working for everyone i ask, they wont work for me and come up with "cannot connect" and ive also noticed that its taking so long that it will make my browser come up with "not responding". This would only normally happen if the CPU or something is being used so much it cant handle the work. But im running a quad core and Vista Ultimate and its never done it before, its just tonight. And it will only do it when the site comes up with cannot connect.

      Im connected via ethernet and my sister is connected with a wireless adapter and she has just told me she's experiencing the same.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      UseLess's Avatar
      UseLess is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Demon
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD & Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Location
      North East UK
      Posts
      248
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Wierd problems

      Greetings,

      Brower? If IE try using another and if you still get the same problem then it at least rules out the browser and just leaves loads of other possibilities...
      Quote:
      Life is like a toilet roll, the closer you get to the end the faster it goes....

      SkyUser Pinger | Password Generator | Test Socket

    4. #3
      Trebor901's Avatar
      Trebor901 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thatcham
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wierd problems

      im running Firefox 3 but ive also tried IE aswell and it also does the same.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Wierd problems

      If it were just on one PC I would say you may have a DNS problem, but as it is more than one that is unlikely.

      What you can try is using OpenDNS servers, many find that these are much better than Sky's' Details on how to apply them can be found here-
      https://www.opendns.com/start/computer/

      If it works, and you like your sis, you can tell her to do it too.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      publovers's Avatar
      publovers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01933
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wierd problems

      Is it possible that security settings in your router have been enabled to block some sites? This has the effect of slowing down access to all sites including the ones not blocked.

      I have recently done this myself and found my download speed dropped by 60%. Disabling site blocking restores speed straight away.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION