Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Activated before Activation

    This is a discussion on Activated before Activation within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Guys, New here so go easy Just looking for a bit of advice, I had my sky max broadband ...

    1. #1
      milky_13's Avatar
      milky_13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Edinburgh
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Activated before Activation

      Hi Guys,

      New here so go easy

      Just looking for a bit of advice, I had my sky max broadband router delivered on Monday 2nd March, this was before I got my activation letter, so I plugged it in and here I am.

      I received my activation letter today however and it states that my broadband will not be activated until 9th March, also not to plug my router in before hand?!

      Woops I thought, so i'm looking for a bit of advice, should I leave my router on now (even though my speed looks like it's capped at 2mbps) until the activation date and see if the speed improves.... Or do I turn it off, give up my internet until Monday 9th March and then turn it back on again?

      Your help is very much appreciated!!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Activated before Activation

      Chnaces are that you are set up on a test speed. Not sure if it will cause any problems using it though. I would

    4. #3
      skypaulusplus's Avatar
      skypaulusplus Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Activated before Activation

      when i got on for connect i plugged in the ruter early and it turned out i got activted 5 days early, so id say plug it in

    5. #4
      milky_13's Avatar
      milky_13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Edinburgh
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Activated before Activation

      many thanks guys, I'll just keep my fingers crossed the cap is lifted as of monday

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Activated before Activation

      What speed were you expecting? Post your stats from the router and we will see whether you are actually capped and if so by how much. The test speed is normally a lot lower than 2 Mbs, more like 64 or 128 K

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      milky_13's Avatar
      milky_13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Edinburgh
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Activated before Activation

      Hi IsItMe

      Letter states my line should handle 8mb - 16mb....
      I'm not silly so 8mb would be fine for me. Current stats:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2048 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 18 db 10 db
      Noise Margin 38 db 14 db

      Think i'll just wait till monday and see what happens, could well be on the wrong product, just really wanted to know if I was going to get charged something extortionate for out of activation usage.....

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Activated before Activation

      Yes, I am glad to say you are heavily capped, look for 16MB or very near it.

      You appear to be on Base speed at the moment.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      nodrog's Avatar
      nodrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wskiw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: sky hub SR102
      Sky TV: SKY+ HD 1tb box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      460
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Activated before Activation

      my first isp eclispe sent me modem yes a modem before activation plugged it in 2 days early to check it powered up and hey presto i got broadband

      when i migrated to sky my activation was after 1pm but at 11am i couldn't get eclipse plugged in sky router and was connected(this is down to bt exchange engineers as far as i know)

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION